Skip to main content

Art History and Visual Studies: A Research Guide: Kroch Library

This research guide to art history and visual studies emphasizes reference resources and databases available to members of the Cornell community through the Cornell University Library.

Cameras in the Archives

Victorian Spy Camera Watch, by Brett Jordan. Source: Flickr.

Archival material cannot typically be checked out or interlibrary loaned, and usually not photocopied or scanned (except by a staff member, and for a fee). However, many archival institutions will allow you to take photos of pages.

Tips for using a camera in the archives

Division of Rare & Manuscript Collections

Housed on the lowest level of Kroch Library, the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections is open for research Monday-Friday, 10:30am-4:30pm, and on some Saturday afternoons. Please consult their web site for specific hours. This is Cornell's largest collection of archival and rare book materials. While books are listed in the library catalog, archival collections are described at the collection (rather than at the item) level, and many have further details on collection contents and arrangement listed on finding guides. Notable collections are described here.

Researchers must register to use the Rare collections. To register: Fill out this online form, then bring a photo ID to the RMC Reference Desk when you come in to do your research.

You may also be interested in the Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation & Archives and its archival collections.

Step One: Use the catalog to find top-level record for archival materials

Step Two: Get more detail if the collection has a finding aid

Further detail:

Web Accessibility Assistance