Skip to main content

Art History and Visual Studies: A Research Guide: Articles

This research guide to art history and visual studies emphasizes reference resources and databases available to members of the Cornell community through the Cornell University Library.

Search for Citations

Browse the list of specialized indexes in the Art and Architecture section of the Databases search.
Or click on any of the titles below to launch individual databases. D
ue to licensing restrictions, access is restricted in most cases to Cornell University community members.

Experimental journal indexes

Articles: Select and search appropriate databases to discover useful articles

Article Databases & Indexes

Try more targeted, deeper searching in individual, art-focused databases

For more precise searching, search databases individually. Browse the list of specialized indexes in the Art and Architecture section of the Databases search. Periodical indexes (in databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Some—but not all—databases provide full-text articles. If the database does not provide full-text, but does give you a citation, click on the Get it! Cornell link to see if there is full text access through another database. If that doesn't work, take down the full article ciation. Then, go back to the catalog and search for the title of the journal the article appears in. The catalog will indicate which issues of the journal Cornell holds in both print and electronic forms. The full text of the article may be available through a different database.

European indexes

If you are researching European subjects, you may want to try some of the following freely-available, electronic indexes:

Arthistoricum.net : ARTicles online

ARTicles online is an excerpt from KUBIKAT, the online catalogue of the Art Libraries Network Florence - Munich - Rome, which is also covered in artlibraries.net - Virtual Catalogue for Art History.

Meta Search

Coordinated by artlibraries.net, an international working community of more than 100 art libraries from 16 countries, the Art Discovery Group Catalogue offers an art-focused research experience within the WorldCat environment. Art library catalogues are now searchable alongside additional content from a multitude of online journals and databases, promising more results on a global scale. The project has been developed as part of The Future of Art Bibliography initiative, with generous support from the Samuel H. Kress Foundation and The Getty Research Institute.

Note: To include Cornell content in your search, be sure to select "Libraries Worldwide" from the search limit menu, as shown below:

JSTOR & Muse

Full-text Collections

JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive. A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals. Most of the articles are at least five years old. Since it is searching the full text, be sure to use the Advanced Search function to narrow down results as much as possible. It is not uncommon to get search results of many thousands of hits in JSTOR.

Project MUSE: A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities. Covers recent issues of many journals that may not appear in JSTOR.