Skip to main content

Popular Culture: A Research Guide: Magazine & Newspaper
Articles as Primary Sources

Click on the BLUE TABS to access each section in this guide.

Magazines and Newspapers as Popular Culture Sources

Magazines and newspapers/news sources are an excellent source of primary material on the popular culture of a particular era.


News Collections Online: News Databases.
(Online research guide)
Access a wealth of historical newspaper articles using this guide to our major newspaper resources online.

 

Popular Periodicals Research Guide.
(Online research guide)
To find popular magazines from the past, start in the Databases section of this guide.

 

Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982. H.W. Wilson.
(Online article index)
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States between 1890 and 1982. Index only.

 

The Vogue Archive (1892 to date), Vogue Italia Archive (1964 to date), and The Women's Wear Daily Archive (1910 to 12 months ago). ProQuest.
(Online full color and full text PDFs of articles and advertisements) Collections of fully searchable, digitized articles, covers, photo shoots, illustrations and advertisements for these three fashion magazines.

 

Women's Magazine Archive. ProQuest.
(Online full color and full text PDFs of articles and advertisements)
The full text online of the following women's magazines and years:
Better Homes and Gardens (7/1/1925 - 12/1/2005. missing 1981);
Chatelaine (1928 - 12/1/2005. missing 1941, 1945, 1948, 1952, 1956, 1959);
Good Housekeeping (1885 - 12/1/2005. missing 1997);
Ladies' Home Journal (1885 - 12/1/2005);
Parents (10/01/1926 - 12/1/2005. missing 1981);
Redbook (11/01/1903 - 12/01/2005. missing 1925, 1982, 1983, 1989, 1990).
Holdings as of mid-November 2017. Missing years will be available in the future.

 

Imperial Russia's Illustrated Press Online. Brill.
(Database of weekly magazines)
In Russian. Illustrated weeklies from late Imperial Russia, 1900 to 1917.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO