Skip to main content

Popular Culture: A Research Guide: Journal
Articles

Click on the BLUE TABS to access each section in this guide.

Journal Articles and Dissertations on Popular Culture

Popular culture has become a topic of academic study. The following interdisciplinary databases provide access to scholarly articles. These resources can also be found by searching the Databases on the Library's web site.

General Article Databases:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Similar to ProQuest Research Library, Academic Search Premier provides 8,500 full-text journals and magazines, a slightly different mix of sources to search, and a different search interface than Research Library. Also has the option to limit results to peer-reviewed/scholarly articles.

Articles & Full Text [aka Summon]
Summon searches over 800,000 articles and ebook chapters owned by Cornell. Click on the Articles & Full Text link on the Cornell Library home page, enter your search terms, then click Go. Access to the full text is via the Get It: Cornell software. Or look up the journal title or book title in our Catalog.

Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar to find scholarly books and articles across all topics and disciplines. The powerful "Cited by" link allows you to find more recent sources that cite a book or article, moving forward in time in the web of citations. Links to the full text of articles is often available as well.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations are a rich source of research on popular culture topics. Use Advanced Search, choose Subject heading (all) -- SU from the drop-down menu, and enter popular culture in the search box.

ProQuest Research Library
This multidisciplinary database is a good starting point for research on all topics. Limit your search results to peer-reviewed sources to get scholarly articles.

Searchable Full-Text Scholarly Journal Collections:

JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journal articles--usually excludes articles from the last 2 to 5 years.

Project Muse
Contains full text of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Web Accessibility Assistance