Skip to main content

Popular Culture: A Research Guide: Encyclopedias
& Handbooks

Click on the BLUE TABS to access each section in this guide.

Getting Started: Major Popular Culture Encyclopedias

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. Thomas Riggs, editor. 2nd ed. Detroit: St. James, 2013.
(Online version; print version (5 volumes) shelved at Olin Reference E 169.1 .S764 2013)
The second edition of this comprehensive reference encyclopedia. A good starting point for research on twentieth- and twenty-first century popular culture topics. Limited to the United States.

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture. Gary Hoppenstand, general editor. 6 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007.
(Print version only: Olin Reference HM 621 .G74 2007 +)
Articles on popular culture worldwide. See also the next section for information on the popular culture of specific topics, countries or regions, and groups.

Specialized Popular Culture Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Popular Culture by Subject or Topic

Baseball: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 2000.
(Olin Reference GV 867.64 .R52x 2000)

Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006.
(Olin Reference TT 957 .S46 2006)

Encyclopedia of Jewish American Popular Culture. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2009.
(Olin Reference E 184.35 .E54 2009 +)

Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture. 2 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004.
(Olin Reference E 184 .S75 E53 2004 +)

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism. 2nd edition. 4 volumes. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2013.
(Online; print version: Olin Reference E 184 .A1 E584 2013 +)

Encyclopedia of Television. 2nd edition. 4 volumes. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.
(Olin Reference PN 1992.18 .E53 2004)

Football: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2009.
(Olin Reference GV 948.85 .R54 2009)

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. 4th edition. 4 volumes. Detroit: St. James, 2000.
(Online; print version: Olin Reference and Olin Stacks Oversize PN 1993.45 .I61 2000+)

The International Handbook of Children, Media and Culture. London: Sage, 2008.
(Online; print version: Mann Stacks HQ 784 .M3 .I58 2008)

The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature. 2nd edition. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2015.
(Online; print version: Olin Reference PN 1009 .A1 C29 2015)

The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales. 2nd edition. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2015.
(Online; print version: Olin Reference PN 3437 .O94 2015)

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History. 2 volumes. New York: Oxford UP, 2013.
(Online; print version: Olin Reference E 169.1 .O945 2013 +)

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America. 2nd edition. New York: Oxford UP, 2013.
(Online)

St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture. Farmington Hills, MI: St. James Press, 2018.
(Online; print version: Olin Reference ML 102 .R27 S7 2018)

War and American Popular Culture: A Historical Encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
(Olin Reference E181 .W26x 1998)

 

Popular Culture by Region or Geography

Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, & Africa. 4 volumes. London: Sage, 2012.
(Online; print version: Olin Reference HM 626 .C843 2012 +)

Encyclopedia of Jewish American Popular Culture. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2009.
(Olin Reference E 184.35 .E54 2009 +)

The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture. 4 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.
(Olin Reference E 169.1 .G7555x 2002)

Handbook of American Popular Culture. 2nd edition. 3 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1989.
(Olin Reference E 169.1 .H229 1989)
See also The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture, above.

Handbook of Chinese Popular Culture. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
(Kroch Asia Stacks HM 101 .H255x 1994)

Handbook of French Popular Culture. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1991.
(Olin Reference DC 33.7 .H23 1991)

Handbook of Japanese Popular Culture. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
(Kroch Asia Stacks DS 822.5 .H23; Olin Reference DS 822.5 .H23)

Handbook of Latin American Popular Culture. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1985.
(Olin Reference F 1408.3 .H23)

Handbook of Spanish Popular Culture. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
(Olin Reference DP 48 .S68x 1999)

Pop Culture Arab World! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2005.
(Olin Stacks Oversize DS 36.88 .H357 2005 +)

Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2007.
(Kroch Asia Stacks Oversize DS 727 .L358 2007 +)

Pop Culture Germany! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2005.
(Olin Stacks Oversize DD 239 .F737 2006 +)

Pop Culture in Asia and Oceania. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2016.
(Kroch Asia Stacks Oversize DS 12 .P55 2016 +)

Pop Culture India! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2006.
(Kroch Asia Stacks Oversize DS 428.2 .K38 2006 +)

Pop Culture Latin America! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2005.
(Olin Stacks Oversize F 1414.2 .S495 2005 +)

Pop Culture Russia! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2005.
(Olin Stacks Oversize DK510.762 .B48 2005 +)

Pop Culture Places: An Encyclopedia of Places in American Popular Culture. 3 volumes. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2014.
(Olin Reference E 159 .K65 2014)

Routledge Handbook of East Asian Popular Culture. New York: Routledge, 2017.
(Kroch Asia Stacks Oversize DS 509.3 .R68 2017 +)

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO