Skip to main content

European Union Studies: Research Guide: Reference
materials

Research EU topics using scholarly publications, primary sources, news media and official documents and publications.

Subject encyclopedias and dictionaries

Works listed in this box are independent publications of academic or commercial publishers. As such, they offer external perspectives on European Union issues.

A dictionary of the European Union. David Phinnemore and Lee McGowan.  6th ed., Routledge, 2013. Olin Reference JN30 .P495 2013

Das Europa lexicon: Begriffe, namen, institutionen. Martin Grosse Huttmann and Hans-Georg Wehling. 2d ed., Dietz, 2013.  Olin Reference       Concise entries (in German) with excellent selective bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of the European Union. Ed. Desmond Dinan. Updated ed., Rienner, 2000.  Olin Library and Law Library Reference JN30 .E52x 2000

European Union Encyclopedia and Directory 16th edition. Europa, 2016.  Olin Reference HC 241.2 .E899  Four sections:  A-Z of the European Union, seven essays on the European Union, directory of the European Union, and statistical survey.

Economist Guide to the European Union (also available as an ebook). Dick Leonard. Economist, 2005. Olin Reference JN30 .L46 2005 9th ed. 2005.

Essays and figures on all aspects and subjects related to the European Union: historical background, organization, specific issues, and future directions.

EU Guides and Directories

EUWhoiswho:  Current directory of managers and services in all EU institutions, bodies and agencies.

EU Depository Libraries in the United States

EU External Action Service:  EU offices around the world.

Jargon and terminology

Eurojargon: a dictionary of European Union acronyms, abbreviations and terminology. Eric Davies. 7th ed. European Information Association,  2004. Olin Library Reference and Law Reference HC240 .E748 2004.

Eurojargon: A plain language guide to Eurojargon (EU Commission)

Eurodicautom (tool for translators)

Glossary: The reform of the Union in 233 definitions [DA, DE, EL, EN, ES, FI, FR, IT, NL, PT, SV.]

Interactive Terminology for Europe (IATE) (tool for translators)

Guides to official documents and publications

Guide to Official Information of the European Union. Deckmyn, Veerle. 3rd edition. Maastricht, The Netherlands: European Institute of Public Administration, 1998. Olin Ref JN 27 .D435x 1998
A brief, clear guide to EU institutions, information sources, and publishing policies and practices as of the mid- 90s, all of which are very complex. There are other guides, earlier ones, which may help with earlier issues, poliicies, and challenges.