Skip to main content

European Union Studies: Research Guide: News and
events

Research EU topics using scholarly publications, primary sources, news media and official documents and publications.

EU Internal Events Calendars and Press Releases

EU News: Click & Read (Swiss Institute of Comparative Law): "This monthly information bulletin contains a selection of official documents of the European Union". Bilingual, French/English. Prepared for a Swiss audience, but with much of broader interest.

Europe in the US:  Delegation of the Commission of the European Union to the United States  Activities in the US, and other materials selected and staged for the US audience.

Press Releases: EUROPA RAPID  Searchable database  -- easy access to news on major issues.

News through Cornell licensed databases (includes general news sources)

LexisNexis Academic (Library Gateway's Find Databases) Access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health and other topics. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts. (European News option offers Agence France Press, The Economist, and Financial Times. Select either "World news" and "European news" or "Foreign Language News.") 

Access world news collection: the ultimate news archive. Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc., [200u]- (Library Gateway's Find Databases) Selected news from over 100 international newspapers translated into English.

World news connection WNC. [Washington, D.C.?] : NTIS ; [Cary, N.C.] : Dialog, c1995- (Library Gateway's Find Databases) Selected news from the foreign press translated into English. A successor to the FBIS Daily reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service and the JPRS reports from the Joint Publications Research Service provided through the National Technical Information Service. The material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Because of copyright restrictions some material which appears in the FBIS Daily Reports is not included in WNC but may be available on the FBIS Publications CD in the Olin Electronic Text Center.

Guide to Finding The News at Cornell (A "must see" resource).

Selected Western European Newspapers and News Services.