Skip to main content

Encyclopedias Online: Use Subject Encyclopedias to Understand Your Topic: Social Sciences
Encyclopedias

Use our extensive collection of online encyclopedias to understand the context and background for any research topic from scholars and experts. Encyclopedias are listed by the breadth and depth of subject coverage.

 

Link to the Encyclopedia or Collection (number of titles) (Specific Subject Strengths)

Sage Reference/Sage Knowledge (250+ titles) (Sociology, Psychology, Education, Management, Politics, Criminology, Media Studies, Research Methods)

Gale Virtual Reference Library (60+ titles) (Business, Sociology, Law, Multicultural Studies, Criminology)

Oxford Reference (370+ titles) (Politics, Geography & Environment, Business & Finance)

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (one title--4,000+ scholarly articles across the Social Sciences)

Wiley/Blackwell Encyclopedias (29 titles) (Criminology; Psychology, Cognitive Science and Health; Politics, Society and Social Issues)

CQ Electronic Library (27 titles) (Law, Politics & Government, Political History)

Wiley Online Library (20+ titles) (Communication, Politics and Society, Psychology and Cognitive Science)

SpringerLink Encyclopedias: Psychology (10 titles)

Elsevier [Science Direct] Encyclopedias: Psychology (5 titles)

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO

Web Accessibility Assistance