Skip to main content

Encyclopedias Online: Use Subject Encyclopedias to Understand Your Topic: Arts & Humanities
Encyclopedias

Use our extensive collection of online encyclopedias to understand the context and background for any research topic from scholars and experts. Encyclopedias are listed by the breadth and depth of subject coverage.

 

Link to the Encyclopedia Collection (number of titles) (Specific Subject Strengths)

Gale Virtual Reference Library (60+ titles) (History, Religion, Ethnic Studies, Literature, Film)

Oxford Reference (370+ titles) (History, Literature, Language, Religion, Mythology & Folklore, Music, Philosophy, Performing Arts)

Oxford Art Online (Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, links to ArtSTOR images)

Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, Oxford Companion to Music, Encyclopedia of Popular Music)

Wiley/Blackwell Encyclopedias (28 titles) (Classics, Ethics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Religion)

Brill Online Reference Works (20+ titles) (Religion and Islam in particular, Classical Studies)

Oxford African-American Studies Center: Reference Articles (10 titles) (History, Religion, Literature, Biography)

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Literature)

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO