Skip to main content

Encyclopedias Online: Use Subject Encyclopedias to Understand Your Topic: Wiley/Blackwell
Encyclopedias

Use our extensive collection of online encyclopedias to understand the context and background for any research topic from scholars and experts. Encyclopedias are listed by the breadth and depth of subject coverage.

List of Wiley/Blackwell Online Encyclopedia Titles

Why a separate page for Wiley/Blackwell Online titles? The Wiley Online Library interface does not make it easy to browse the online encyclopedias we have purchased from them. To access all online Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedias, choose "Reference works" from the FILTER LIST/PUBLICATION TYPE section below the search box on this page. This list will include all the online Wiley and Blackwell subject reference titles available, including the ones that we do not own or subscribe to. Titles we have access to have an open padlock icon in the title list.

Below are links to Blackwell and Wiley online encyclopedia titles we own on humanities and social sciences topics followed by the year of publication. An open year (2015- ) indicates an encyclopedia with a subscription to ongoing article updates.

 

Classics

Encyclopedia of Ancient Battles. 2017

Encyclopedia of Ancient History. 2012

Encyclopedia of Greek Tragedy. 2014

Homer Encyclopedia. 2011

Virgil Encyclopedia. 2014

 

Communication

International Encyclopedia of Communication Online. 2008- . Regularly updated.

International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society. 2015

International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication. 2017

International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication. 2015

International Encyclopedia of Media Effects. 2017

International Encyclopedia of Political Communication. 2016

 

Criminology

Encyclopedia of Corrections. 2017

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment. 2016

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice. 2014

 

Ethics

Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology. 2002

International Encyclopedia of Ethics. 2013

 

History

The American West. (Wiley encyclopedia in the EBSCO eBooks Collection; one simultaneous user). 2003

Encyclopedia of Ancient Battles. 2017

Encyclopedia of Ancient History. 2012

Encyclopedia of Diplomacy. 2018

Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration. 2013

Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies. 2016

Encyclopedia of War. 2011

International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: 1500 to Present. 2009

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England. 2nd edition. 2014

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Nationalism. 2016

 

Linguistics

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Writing Systems. 2014

Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics. 2012

International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction. 2015

 

Literature

Encyclopedia of British Literature, 1660-1789. 2015

Encyclopedia of English Renaissance Literature. 2012

Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory. 2011

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature in Britain. 2017

Encyclopedia of Romantic Literature. 2012

Encyclopedia of the Gothic. 2013

Encyclopedia of the Novel. 2011

Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies. 2016

Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Fiction. 2011

Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature. 2015

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Eighteenth-Century Writers and Writing, 1660-1789. 2011

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Literature. Cross-searchable collection of the Wiley-Blackwell literature encyclopedias. 2011- .

 

Politics, Society, and Social Issues

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online. 2007- . Updated three times a year.

Emerging Trends in the Social and Behavioral Sciences: An Interdisciplinary, Searchable, and Linkable Resource. 2015- .

Encyclopedia of Corrections. 2017

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment. 2016

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice. 2014

Encyclopedia of Diplomacy. 2018

Encyclopedia of Environmetrics. 2002

Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration. 2013

Encyclopedia of Political Thought. 2015

Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies. 2016

Encyclopedia of War. 2011

International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society. 2015

International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality. 2015

International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication. 2017

International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication. 2017

International Encyclopedia of Political Communication. 2016

International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: 1500 to Present. 2009

International Studies Encyclopedia. (Wiley-Blackwell title available through Oxford Reference). 2017

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies. 2016

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Human Evolution. 2011

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Nationalism. 2016

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements. 2013

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Theory. 2017

 

Psychology, Cognitive Science, and Health

ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling. 2009

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology. 4th edition, 2010

Emerging Trends in the Social and Behavioral Sciences: An Interdisciplinary, Searchable, and Linkable Resource. 2015- .

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science. 2006

Encyclopedia of Psychological Trauma. 2012

Handbook of Psychology. 2nd edition, 2012

International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication. 2015

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior, and Society. 2014

 

Religion

Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity. 2011