Skip to main content

International Cities: Information & Statistics: Articles & Government
Documents: Databases

This guide focuses on resources that provide difficult-to-find data and other information about individual cities outside the United States, including some comparative sources. I have excluded country-level data and information resources.

Searchable Databases of Articles, Books, and Government Publications

PAIS International. Public Affairs Information Service/ProQuest. Covers 1915 to date.
(online)
Contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. Indexes a broad range of resources:
journal articles, books, government documents at all levels (federal, state/provincial, municipal), yearbooks, reports, and pamphlets in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese. No newspaper articles. Search by city name.

 

TRID: TRIS Online plus ITRD. Washington: Transportation Research Board. Covers mainly 1960s to date.
(online)

TRID is an integrated transportation research database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide, including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Good international coverage.

 

Urban Studies Abstracts. Sage/EBSCO. Covers 1973 to date.
(online)
Citations
cover articles in academic journals and some books related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Search by city name.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO

Web Accessibility Assistance