Skip to main content

WRIT 2100: Delve Deeper: Research Methods in the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences: Exercise: Article Databases

Small Group Exercise: Interdisciplinary Databases

I will assign each group to search one of these databases.

Interdisciplinary databases containing many types of article sources (scholarly, substantive news, popular):

Academic Search Premier. EBSCO.
A general periodical database that provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,100 journals and linksto the full text for over 3,200 journals. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).

ProQuest Research Library.
Searches thousands of articles in general interest magazines and academic journals that cover a wide variety of subjects and academic disciplines. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected newspapers, television and radio programs. We subscribe to most of the periodicals indexed. Many articles are linked from the article citation page. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles.

Articles & Full Text [aka Summon].
A new way to find online articles and online books. This powerful search engine works across many databases and pulls together a wide variety of resources. Refine your search using the categories on the left side of the results page.

Interdisciplinary databases containing mainly scholarly sources:

Google Scholar.
A searchable database of scholarly literature across all disciplines--articles, books, and papers--with links to the full text in many cases.

JSTOR.
A large collection of searchable and browseable full-text scholarly journals. Covers from the beginning of the journal (earliest is 1665) up to within two to five years of the present [the "moving wall"]. List of journals included and years covered.