Skip to main content

WRIT 2100: Delve Deeper: Research Methods in the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences: Articles

GetIt!

Not all articles are available full text.

If an article isn't available full text through a database...

Use GetIt! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not thearticle title)
Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need.

If you cannot locate the article, ask a librarian for help.

Watch a video on how to use GetIt! Cornell

Document Delivery

If the print copy of the journal article you want is held at the Library Annex, you can request that the library staff scan it for you--that's called Document Delivery, and it's free (if it's held at another campus library, you will be charged a fee). Use the Interlibrary Loan system to place your request.

Articles: Select and search appropriate databases to discover useful articles

Two strategies:
1) Cast a broad net—search a number of article citation sources all at once

Article Databases & Indexes

Or
2) Be more focused by searching individual databases

Periodical indexes (in databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Some—but not all—databases provide full-text articles.

If the database does not provide full-text, but does give you a citation, click on the Get it! Cornell link to see if there is full text access through another database. If that doesn't work, take down the full article ciation. Then, go back to the Classic catalog and search for the title of the journal the article appears in. The catalog will indicate which issues of the journal Cornell holds in both print and electronic forms. The full text of the article may be available through a different database.

For more precise searching, search databases individually

For instance, you can browse the list of specialized indexes in the Art and Architecture section of the Databases search.

General Periodical Indexes

Academic Search Premier Provides indexing, abstracts (summaries) and some full-text covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Proquest Research Library Indexes and abstracts over 1500 periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The ProQuest Direct Web interface provides the full-text, in several formats, of many articles contained in the database.

Article Databases & Indexes

Full-text Collections

JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive. A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals. Most of the articles are at least five years old. Since it is searching the full text, be sure to use the Advanced Search function to narrow down results as much as possible. It is not uncommon to get search results of many thousands of hits in JSTOR.

Project MUSE: A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities. Covers recent issues of many journals that may not appear in JSTOR.