LibGuides: HD 4630: Introduction to functional MRI analysis for human neuroimaging (Spring 2015): Databases for Finding Scholarly Research

Finding Full-Text of Articles

You want the full text of articles, right? There are several ways to find them.

Use the Get it! Cornell links wherever you see them!
If you have citations for specific articles: check the Library Catalog to see if we subscribe to the journals that contain the articles. The Catalog will show whether or not we have access to the electronic version and/or the print version.
If we don't have it, we can get it for you for free in a few days! Request materials through Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan by clicking the Request Item button

Reference librarians are here to help you - so please contact us with any questions!

Top Databases

Here are top scholarly databases to look at first.

PubMed
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Includes applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology and intervention, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, and treatment and prevention.
Cochrane Library
Consists chiefly of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).

ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public, easy and free access to information on clinical studies for a wide range of diseases and conditions.
BrainMap.org
"BrainMap is a database of published functional and structural neuroimaging experiments with coordinate-based results (x,y,z) in Talairach or MNI space. The goal of BrainMap is to develop software and tools to share neuroimaging results and enable meta-analysis of studies of human brain function and structure in healthy and diseased subjects." Also responsible for GingerALE.

CINAHL
CINAHL provides indexing for 2,913 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for 1,150 journals are also included. Full text material includes nearly 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. In March 2009, the content of the Pre-CINAHL database was incorporated into the CINAHL database.

Using Web of Science

Need to find scholarly articles on a particular topic? Try searching Web of Science, an important and useful multidisciplinary scholarly database that can help you find highly cited scholarly articles for nearly any topic. See the tutorial!

Web of Science
Choosing "All Databases" allows you to search an index of journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.