Skip to main content

Engineering Resources: Engineering Info

Guide to library resources for the Cornell NYC Tech Campus.

Top Engineering Resources

 

  Information Needs:
Cornell Library Catalog has records for 8 million books, article searching, and thousands of journals.  May lack the complete coverage of INSPEC, Compendex, and Web of Science.
IEEE Xplore is the premier electrical and computing engineering full-text database for ECE.
INSPEC has scholarly journal articles and conference papers covering computer science. Engineering Village coveres all engineering fields.
Full-text to all Association for Computing Machinery journals, transactions, magazines, and proceedings since 1947.
Web of Science searches major science journals across disciplines.Tracks the number of times articles and authors are cited by others. Includes Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Journal citations reportsEssential Science Indicators, and Derwent Innovations (patents) databases. 
 MathSciNet consists of reviews and citations to the world's research literature in mathematics and statistics, from 1940 to the present
Over 400 lectures on artificial intelligence, communication networks, electrical engineering, human-centered informatics, synthetic biology, and life sciences. Books are  50- to 200 pages in length, each of which is authored by a prominent contributor to the field.
Close to 10,000 e-books published by O'Reilly for programmers and IT professionals. Covers the last three years only. We also get in these books in print.
Full-text electronic republication of hundreds of books and journals covering technology, programming languages, desktop applications, the Web and more.
 2,000 technical e-books on many engineering subjects by 100 publishers, including society publishers.
Not all are available due to proprietary restrictions. Some are archived here. Older print ones can be found in the library catalog.
Use Google Patents to find full-text and drawings of all U.S. patents and many U.S. patent applications. European patents are also included. Mindy Bickel is Innovation and Outreach Coordinator at the Cornell NYCTech campus. Contact her at mindy.bickel@uspto.gov.
Available through Thomson Reuter's Web of Science, Derwent includes value-added patent title descriptions and citation information to world and US patents from 1963 to date.

Jeremy Cusker, Engineering Library

Jeremy Cusker's picture
Jeremy Cusker
Contact:
103B Carpenter Hall

Engineering Library

Cornell University

Ithaca, NY 14850

(607) 254-6261

Engineering Librarian

Jill Powell's picture
Jill Powell
Contact:
103A Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
jhp1@cornell.edu
engrref@cornell.edu
607-255-8701
Subjects:Engineering