Skip to main content

Comics and Graphic Novels: Finding
Books

A guide to Cornell University Library research materials on graphic novels, comic books, and comic strips.

Finding Books in the Library Catalogs

The Library of Congress classification under which most comics and graphic novels can be found is the PN 6700 through PN 6790 range. Note that most are in the '+' (single oversize) or '++' (double oversize) areas.  Manga and other material related to comics in Asia are located in the Kroch Library Asia collection.

The Library of Congress Subject Headings employ a number of terms that encompass comics, cartoons, and graphic novels. The following list may be useful in locating critical/historical books and other secondary materials in the Cornell Library Catalog. Use the Subject search in the library catalog to limit your search to a specific heading:


Note: Searches for multiple word headings will retrieve more precise results if enclosed in quotation marks.


Library of Congress Subject Headings

COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC -- [country or region name]
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC -- DICTIONARIES
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC -- HISTORY AND CRITICISM
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC -- MORAL AND ETHICAL ASPECTS
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC -- PERIODICALS
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC -- POLITICAL ASPECTS
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC -- PSYCHOLOGICAL ASPECTS
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC -- RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC -- SOCIAL ASPECTS

COMIC BOOK COVERS
COMIC BOOK FANS
COMIC BOOKS AND CHILDREN
COMIC STRIP CHARACTERS

GRAPHIC NOVELS
GRAPHIC NOVELS--[country name]
GRAPHIC NOVELS--HISTORY AND CRITICISM


AUTOBIOGRAPHICAL COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
DETECTIVE AND MYSTERY COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
EROTIC COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
FANTASY COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
FOTONOVELAS
HISPANIC AMERICANS --COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
HORROR COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
NEWSPAPERS--SECTIONS, COLUMNS, ETC.--COMICS
ROMANCE COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
SCIENCE FICTION COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
SEX--COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
SUSPENSE COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
UNDERGROUND COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
WEBCOMICS

CARTOONING
CARTOONISTS
JEWISH CARTOONISTS
POLITICAL CARTOONISTS
WOMEN CARTOONISTS


Subject heading searches may also be used to find critical work on individual authors, cartoonists, characters, or publishers e.g.:

MOORE ALAN
SCHULZ CHARLES M
WONDER WOMAN (FICTITIOUS CHARACTER)
MARVEL COMICS GROUP


Cornell Cartoon Alumni -- Real & Drawn

Andy Singer, BA - Creator of No Exit

Sideshow Mel (Melvin Van Horne) of The Simpsons

New Acquisitions: Comics & Graphic Novels

Loading

Special Collections at Cornell


The Division of Rare & Manuscript Collections in Kroch Library and the ILR Library's Kheel Center hold archival collections relevant to the study of comics:

Comic Book Collection ca. 1984-2004.
Comic collection compiled by Andrew Willett includes titles published by DC, Dark Horse, Marvel, and others. Includes approximately 5,000 individual issues. See the Finding Aid for contents listing. Kroch RMC Collection #8033.

John Baer Cartoon Collection
The collection focuses on Baer cartoons that saw print between the 1930s and the 1960s. Much of his work deal with issues of labor and the workplace. ILR Library Kheel Center collection #5693

LGBT/Erotic Comic Books.
A small collection of miscellaneous LGBT & erotic comics from 1974-1987. Kroch Human Sexuality Collection PN6714 L52

Superman.
Two issues (8, 68) from 1939. Kroch Rare PZ1 A3 S865