Skip to main content

Zotero: Syncing
& Space

Zotero Syncing & Storage

 

Zotero Syncing/Space Management

 

Zotero gives each user 300MB of file storage for free.
Citations take up hardly any space and there's no limit to the amount of citation information that can be stored and synced, but PDFs and other attachments take up lots of space.

 

Best Options for Managing Space

  • Buy more inexpensive space from Zotero http://www.zotero.org/support/storage
  • Move pdfs and other attachments elsewhere to free up space
  • Use Zotero with Cornell's Box Cloud Storage (or other WebDav storage):  
    http://guides.library.cornell.edu/zotero_to_Box
  • If you use Zotero only on one computer, and you never need to use Zotero elsewhere, you could choose not to sync, but that’s dangerous if your computer is stolen, melts down, etc. Definitely do regular Zotero back-ups if you’re not going to sync.

 

Caution: Using Dropbox (or similar non-WebDAV cloud storage) is dangerous; it can irreparably corrupt your Zotero data if you’re not very careful, though you can use these services to store attachments. Here’s why:

Zotero stores your data and attachments on your computer in folders, a directory. The most important file in the 'zotero' directory is the zotero.sqlite file, which contains the majority of your data: item metadata, notes, tags, etc.  DO NOT PUT THIS IN DROPBOX or other cloud storage. The directory also contains a 'storage' subdirectory, containing all of your file attachments, such as PDFs, web snapshots, audio files, or any other files you have imported (note that files that are linked are not copied into this subdirectory). This folder/subdirectory can relatively safely be moved to Dropbox or other cloud storage. Use Zotfile or WebDav to do so.
 

ZOTFILE
Zotero stores your data and attachments on your computer in folders, a directory. The most important file in the 'zotero' directory is the zotero.sqlite file, which contains the majority of your data: item metadata, notes, tags, etc.  DO NOT PUT THIS IN DROPBOX or other cloud storage. The directory also contains a 'storage' subdirectory, containing all of your file attachments, such as PDFs, web snapshots, audio files, or any other files you have imported (note that files that are linked are not copied into this subdirectory). This folder/subdirectory can relatively safely be moved to Dropbox or other cloud storage. Use Zotfile explained on accompanying handout.

 

Warning: Before you copy, delete or move any of these files, be sure that Firefox and/or Zotero Standalone are closed. Failure to do so before moving these files can damage your data.

 

WebDAV
WebDAV is a standard protocol for transferring files over the web. There are many third-party options, both free and paid (cloudMe, JungleDisk, BingoDisk etc.). Once you have your WebDAV account info, enter the URL provided by the service, your username and password in the Sync preferences tab. Specify whether or not you are using secure WebDAV (https). If you don't know, you can simply try both options, but your service provider should be able to tell you. After entering the information, click “Verify Server”. If Zotero successfully verifies the WebDAV account, you're all set to use file syncing via WebDAV. Zotero sync works with correctly installed WebDAV servers. 

Cornell's Box is WebDav and provides unlimited cloud storage. Directions for setting it up to work with Zotero:

http://guides.library.cornell.edu/zotero_to_Box

 

More: http://www.zotero.org/support/sync#file_syncing                                                                          

updated 11/2015