Skip to main content

International Commercial Arbitration Guide: Arbitral Awards

Arbitral Awards

Arbitral awards are sometimes available on the issuing institution's Web site, but not always. Several resources compile information about arbitral information. Yearbook: Commercial Arbitration, available in print and online subscription through Kluwer Arbitration, includes arbitral awards for the ICC, the German Arbitration Institute (DIS), and the Netherlands Arbitration Institute (NAI), as well as ad hoc partial awards rendered under UNCITRAL rules. ICC Arbitral Awards 2001-2007, available in print, contains awards already published in the Yearbook: Commercial Arbitration and the Journal du Droit International. Also available in print, Enforcement of Arbitral Awards Against Sovereigns is a practitioner's guide to recovering arbitral awards from sovereign states.

Some online resources provide awards information. Westlaw has a database entitled International Centre for Dispute Resolution-Arbitration Awards (ICDR-ARBAWARD). ICSID provides the full text of selected cases and awards, as well as lists of pending and concluded cases and awards, together with place of publication. Abstracts of awards and decisions concerning the UNCITRAL texts are available through the Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT) database. The index of CLOUT abstracts is a helpful tool that organizes cases according to the article of the Model Arbitration Law to which they pertain.

Subject Guide

Cornell Law Library's picture
Cornell Law Library
Contact:
Myron Taylor Hall
Website
Web Accessibility Assistance