Skip to main content

International Commercial Arbitration Guide: Lexis, Westlaw, and Subscription Database Resources

IX. Lexis, Westlaw, and Subscription Database Resources

Lexis and Westlaw can be extremely helpful in researching ICA. These sites contain many resources on the subject, ranging from directories and newsletters to law review articles and case law. Lexis' Mealey's International Arbitration Report provides in-depth analysis of cases and awards back to 1993 and is updated monthly. Westlaw includes databases of resources for the London Court of International Arbitration, the Chinese International Economic Trade and Arbitration Commission, the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce, and more. Westlaw also has an International Commercial Arbitration Legislation database that includes the arbitration laws of many countries.

To see a list of ICA resources in Lexis, search the Directory of Online Sources. You can also access Lexis' ICA resources by selecting the Legal tab, then Area of Law by Topic, and then International Arbitration.

To view a list of Westlaw's ICA resources, consult the Westlaw Directory and enter International Commercial Arbitration into the Search for a Database box. To access resources while logged into Westlaw, click on Directory, select Topic Practice Areas, then Alternative Dispute Resolution and select an ICA area to search. Alternatively, in Westlaw's Search for a Database box, enter the name of a country followed by the phrase International Arbitration, and Westlaw will retrieve a list of nation-specific databases where available.

A comprehensive list of resources in Lexis and Westlaw is included in Lyonnette Louis-Jacques's guide, International Commercial Arbitration: Resources in Print and Electronic Format, under Legal Databases.

Kluwer Arbitration is a subscription Web site available to the Cornell Law community that focuses solely on ICA. Unlike Lexis and Westlaw, Kluwer Arbitration does not force researchers to weed out legal resources on numerous other topics. The site offers a deep pool of resources, including practice tools, journals, and rules and conventions. Kluwer Arbitration also provides electronic access to many valuable print books, including Yearbook: Commercial Arbitration, which provides a comprehensive source of ICA information, and Gary Born's 2009 book, International Commercial Arbitration.

Subject Guide

Cornell Law Library's picture
Cornell Law Library
Contact:
Myron Taylor Hall
Website
Web Accessibility Assistance