Skip to main content

International Commercial Arbitration Guide: Online Resources

Online Resources

Several valuable databases exist for beginning ICA research. One such Web site is the Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL) page on International Commercial Arbitration (Dispute Settlement). EISIL includes links to most of the resources already mentioned in this guide in addition to links to several other documents and institutions. EISIL provides a tripartite guide to essential ICA resources: primary documents, Web sites, and research resources. Primary documents include the European Convention on International Commercial Arbitration, the Internataional Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) Convention, Regulations and Rules, and the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration. The Web sites section includes links to case law on UNCITRAL texts, NAFTA documents, and the Permanent Court of Arbitration. EISIL's section on research resources consists of ASIL's Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: International Commercial Arbitration, the ICSID Bibliography, and LLRX's guide International Commercial Arbitration: Locating the Resources-Revised.

Another excellent resource is the Kluwer Arbitration Blog. The blog provides news and information on ICA written by leading experts from law firms, academia, and ICA institutions. The blog focuses on current and upcoming events, trends, and major arbitration awards.

The Web site Translex.org from the Center for Transnational Law (CENTRAL) at the University of Cologne, Germany is another valuable resource for arbitration research. It contains transnational law principles, making reference to doctrinal writing, arbitral decisions, and national laws. Also, the law firm Mayer Brown offers issue-specific articles on international arbitration that can be searched by geographic region.

A Cornell Law Library Web site, InSITE, provides annotations and links to many free Web sites about ICA.

Subject Guide

Cornell Law Library's picture
Cornell Law Library
Contact:
Myron Taylor Hall
Website
Web Accessibility Assistance