Skip to main content

Health Information on the Internet: A Resource Guide: Getting Started

An annotated list of reliable and trustworthy health information websites.

Health in the news

The Evidence-Based Living blog is a new initiative from Cornell's Bronfenbrenner Center for Translational Research.  Covering the latest topics in health news, this blog helps you make sense of health claims by providing quality expert information based on sound scientific evidence.

 

Medscape website is a good resource for reading about health and medicine in the news.  You need to sign up for a free account to get access to full text articles.  It also includes a healthcare directory to find physicians and practitioners.

Comprehensive Health Websites


MedlinePlus is a service of the US National Library of Medicine, a branch of the National Institutes of Health.  It covers a broad range of topics including acute and chronic conditions and disorders, diagnosis and therapy, and health and wellness issues.  It includes a comprehensive drugs, herbs and supplements database.  In addition to encyclopedia-like entries, there are many links to articles on other, trustworthy websites.

Mayo Clinic

The Mayo Clinic website covers a similar scope of information as Medline Plus.  The Mayo Clinic is a world-renowned medical institution.  This site includes a symptom-checker tool, a guide to tests and procedures, and a large multimedia library.

Health information for specific groups

 KidsHealth is a trusted site for information on health of children and adolescents, maintained by a pediatrician-led non-profit.  There is information here for parents, kids and teens.

 

 NIH Senior Health provides reliable health information for seniors. Run by the National Institutes of Health it includes information on a wide range of topics as well as videos and training tools.


HealthyWomen.org is the website of a non-profit organization with a strong network of women's health clinics, centers and healthcare organization nationwide.