Top Databases
Scholarly articles are written by authorities in a field, usually faculty members at a college or university.
The database you use to find scholarly articles will depend on the subject you are researching. Below are some good examples of databases. To find others, go to Reseach Help on the library website and choose Library Guides.Choose the subject area your topic falls under and then look at your course guide or the guide(s) that most closely matches your topic. Most of these guides will tell you the top databases and journals for that subject area.
- ABI/InformABI/Inform, an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. ABI/Inform covers the areas of accounting, banking, computers, economics, engineering management, communications, finance, health care, human resources, insurance, international trends, law, management, marketing, public administration, real estate, taxation, transportation.
- Web of ScienceChoosing "All Databases" allows you to search an index of journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Communication AbstractsComprehensively covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources on a world-wide scale. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers, such as international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
- PsycINFOContains citations and summaries of the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Includes applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology and intervention, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, and treatment and prevention.
- Socological AbstractsCovers literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.
Finding Full-Text of Articles
You want the full text of articles, right? There are several ways to find them.
- Use the Get it! Cornell links wherever you see them!
- If you have citations for specific articles: check the Library Catalog to see if we subscribe to the journals that contain the articles. Do a Journal Title
search (or a Journal Title Abbreviation search if you're not sure of
the full title). The Catalog will show whether or not we have access to
the electronic version and/or the print version.
- If we don't have it, we can get it for you in a few days! Request articles via Interlibrary Loan.
In any event, Reference librarians are here to help you - so please contact us with any questions!
Find web resources that provide scholarly information.
Google Scholar can also be a good source of scholarly information. To get the most out of this resource, see the Cornell website on Using Google Scholar to locate Cornell University Library resources
And be sure to look for Get it! Cornell links to access full text articles from Google Scholar.
Finding Scholarly Articles--Video
Scholarly vs. Popular articles
Introduction to Research--Evaluating Resources
Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-Scholarly Periodicals shows how to evaluate periodicals by looking at their format, intended audience, and appearance.
Off-Campus Access to Full-Text
If you're off-campus and want access to full-text, just go through the Library Gateway. You can log in with your netID and password to gain access to our licensed resources.
For anytime, anywhere access from your broswer, download the Passkey toolbar from CUL Labs.