Skip to main content

WRIT 1380: Fundamentals of College-Level Writing. (Spring 2017): FINDING MEDIA
ARTICLES--Local

A research guide for Kelly King-O'Brien's section of WRIT 1380.

Local News Coverage--Sources

Ithaca and Tompkins County, New York:

Cornell Chronicle
Online browsing and searching: eCommons 1969-1996Cornell Chronicle Web site.
Microfilm access: Olin Film 3126 (1969 to 2010)

Cornell [Daily] Sun
Note: Print publication frequency changed from daily, Monday through Friday, to Monday/Tuesday/Thursday: "The Sun publishes a print edition on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday during the academic year..." October 2, 2015 masthead.
Call Number: ++ LH1 .C805 (see https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/330140 for a list of the print issues available in Rare and Manuscripts and the Olin Stacks [print holdings are incomplete])
Online indexing and full text:
The Sun and the Library are collaborating on a project to digitize the newspaper from 1880 through 2000
.
08/20/2006 to date: Access World News
November 2015 to date: Use the Search box on Cornell Daily Sun home page
Microfilm access: Library Annex Film 1106 (1880-Oct. 1943, Oct. 1946-Nov. 9, 1959); Olin Film 1106 (Nov. 10, 1959 to date)

The Cornell Review
"Conservative, contrarian, anti-establishment."
Online searching and full text:
2009? to date: Use the Search box in the right-hand column of the home page.

Ithaca Journal
Other Titles: Ithaca Daily Journal (1872-1913); Ithaca Journal-News (1919-1933)
Online indexing: Available in the Newspapers section of ProQuest (08/09/1999 to date).
Available in NYS Historical Newspapers (07/03/1872 to 12/31/1900)
The Ithaca Journal website has an searchable online archive of the most recent two years.
Microfilm access: Olin Film 882 (1872 to date)

Ithaca Times [online version is called Ithaca.com]
Other Titles: Ithaca New Times (1972 - 1978)
Online indexing and full text: January 27, 2000 to date. Ithaca Times News Archive: Advanced Search
Microfilm access: Olin Film 4383 (1972 to date)

Ithaca Voice
Online indexing and full text: June 2014 to date. Searchable and browseable from the home page.

Tiny Town Times: Tiny News for Ithacan-Americans
Online indexing and full text: 07/12/2009 to date. Searchable and browseable from the home page.

Tompkins Weekly
Online indexing and full text: Started June 2014. Online archive only explicitly covers February 2016 to date. Use the search box at upper right on the home page.

Web Accessibility Assistance