Skip to main content

DSOC 1204: China in Transition: News
Databases

Chinese language news resources

There are several important databases that provide access to Chinese language journal articles and news reports.

Be sure to ask the Asia Library staff for assistance in using these resources.

English language news from China

Access World News Research Collection
This NewsBank database provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, including China, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

The Current Digest of the Chinese Press
Presents a digestible collection of articles each week from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more. Articles are selected from a wide variety of sources in China, all of which are explicitly targeted on a domestic – not foreign – audience. Each article is carefully translated into English, with great attention given to conveying "the sense and spirit" of the Chinese text.

LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts.

Web Accessibility Assistance