Skip to main content

DSOC 1204: China in Transition: Article

Find article texts

If a database cites an article you need, and there is no direct link to the full text online, look for a “Get It Cornell” link, or search in the Cornell Library Classic Catalog for the title of the journal (not the article).

check CU holdings

Check the volume holdings statements at the bottom of the records for print titles, or the dates of coverage in the electronic access links for the “networked” or online versions, then navigate chronologically to the journal issue you need.

more databases

Cornell subscribes to hundreds of article databases that specialize in various subject areas, e.g.  agriculture, development, politics and government, medicine and health, nutrition, sociology, women’s studies, etc.   To identify more databases that you might wish to search, click on the Database Names tab and try browsing by category or searching by keyword.


Articles, Ebooks…. (Summon):

Provides access to nearly 800 million items, including scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, ebook chapters and audio/visual resources.  Also draws from digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.  Can be a convenient place to start.  Easy to search and there are many direct links to full text, but the results can be too large with too many irrelevant citations. Use facets at left to narrow down the search results.

Database Names:

Academic Search Premier  (EBSCO)

(To search multiple EBSCO databases together, click on choose databases link)

A multi-disciplinary database that provides citations and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals.  Provides direct links to the full text of articles for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

Provides article citations and full text for business journals and other sources, including  peer-reviewed publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business for top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.


Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 590 "core" Sociology journals, some dating back to 1895. In addition, provides citations from over 1,000 "selective" coverage journals. Also includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology.

Environment Index (EBSCO)

Provides researchers with abstracts and indexing for over 1,000 titles covering environmental policy and studies. Updated monthly, with ongoing coverage for over 500 of those titles, the database contains citations for articles published since 1973.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Produced by the Association for Asian Studies. Provides citations for journal articles and book chapters on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Asia Collections

There are also several important databases that provide access to Chinese language journal articles and news reports.

Be sure to ask the Asia Library staff for assistance in using these resources.