Skip to main content

DSOC 1204: China in Transition: print encyclopedias

reference encyclopedia locations

Encyclopedias are 'reference' books. Many of them are located near our service desks so staff can assist you in beginning your research. Reference books do not 'circulate,' i.e. they cannot be checked out of the library. Scanners are available for copying and e-mailing the text of print encyclopedias.

The Olin reference collection is located in the middle of the main floor, surrounding the Reference Desk area.

The Kroch Asia reference collection is located in the Severinghaus Reading Room.

topic search tip

To find articles or chapters on your topic, look for a subject index at the end of the last volume of the encyclopedia. If the entire encyclopedia is on your country, or if there are no entries on your country, look up concepts such as diet or health or nutrition or economic development or consumers. The index will list the page(s) where information on your topic is located.

print encyclopedias

Berkshire encyclopedia of China
Cheng, Linsun, ed.
Great Barrington, MA: Berkshire Pub. Group, c2009
5 vols.
LOCATION:  Kroch Library Asia Reference (Non-Circulating)
Call Number: Oversize DS735.A2 B47
2009+

Encyclopedia of modern China
Pong, David, ed.
Farmington Hills, MI: Charles Scribner's Sons/Gale Cenage Learning, c2009
4 vols.
LOCATION: Kroch Library Asia Reference (Non-Ciculating)
Call number:  Oversize DS755.E63 2009+

China today: an encyclopedia of life in the People's Republic
Luo, Jing, ed.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2005
2 vols.
LOCATION: 
Kroch Library Asia Reference (Non-Ciculating)
Call number:  Oversize DS777.6 .C458 2005+

Encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese culture
Davis, Edward L., ed.
London; New York: Routledge, 2005
LOCATION:  Kroch Library Asia Reference (Non-Ciculating)
Call number:  Oversize DS779.23 .E53 2005+


Encyclopedia of globalization
Robertson, Roland, ed.
New York: Routledge, 2007
4 vols.
LOCATION: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating)
Call Number:  Oversize JZ1318 .E63 2007+

Encyclopedia of the developing world
Leonard, Thomas, ed.
New York: Routledge, c2006
3 vols.
LOCATION: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating)
Call Number:  Oversize HC59.7 .E52 2006+


Geography of China: environment, resources, population, and development
Zhao, Songqiao
New York: J. Wiley, c1994
LOCATION:
Kroch Library Asia Reference (Non-Ciculating)
Call Number:  Oversize DS706.7 .C36x 1994+

Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of globalization
Ritzer, George, ed.
Malden, MA.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012

5 vols.
LOCATION: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating)
Call Number: 
JZ1318 .W543 2012


Web Accessibility Assistance