ÇAĞATAY TÜRKÇESİ SÖZLÜKLERİ BİBLİYOGRAFYASI / [PDF] Farhad Rahimi = CHAGATAI TURKISH DICTIONARIES BIBLIOGRAPHY
Chagatai Turkish, the second period of the North-East Turkic language, is a writing language that the Eastern Turks continue to use from the beginning of the 15th century until the beginning of the 20th century. After Nevayi's death, various dictionaries began to be written on every corner of the world of Islam, so that his works could easily be read. These dictionaries, written mostly in the Ottoman Empire, Iran, Azerbaijan, India or Turkestan and having a great value for the history of Turkish language development have created a lexicographical schools. In this study, are given mainly Chagatai Turkish dictionaries and studies on them.
Working Papers of the BMBF project “Europe from the outside : Formations of Middle Eastern views on Europe from inside Europe” 2 Caspar Hillebrand. A researchers’ list and bibliography of Ottoman travel accounts to Europe (2nd edition)
BiblioPera brings 9 research centers located in Beyoğlu and their collections together -- Istanbul Research Institute, Koç University Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations, SALT Research, Deutsches Archäologisches Institut-Istanbul, Netherlands Institute in Turkey, Institut Français d’Études Anatoliennes, Orient-Institut Istanbul, Swedish Research Institute in Istanbul, and The Consulate General of Greece - Sismanoglio Megaro. The project is developed by Koç University Suna Kıraç Library, and supported by Istanbul Development Agency.
Türkiye’de İslâm Hukuku Çalışmaları Literatürü (1928-2012) [Islamic law - Bibliography.]
Hamdi Çilingir, M. Salih Eser ; [yayına hazırlayan Hüseyin Kader]. İstanbul : İSAR, İstanbul Araştırma ve Eğitim Vakfı yayınları, 2014 (iletişim, Ensar Neşriyat)
Literatür çalışmaları, geçmişte yapılan yayınların mahiyet ve şeceresini ortaya koyma yanında, gelecekte üretilecek bilgiye kaynaklık ve rehberlik etme, bilginin daha sıhhatli bir zeminde üretilmesine katkı sağlama konusunda önemli bir işlev görmektedir. Her alan için söz konusu olduğu gibi, Fıkıh/İslâm hukuku alanında araştırma yapanlar için de bu anlamda bir literatüre duyulan ihtiyaç izahtan vârestedir. Ancak, hukuk teorisinden hukuka, siyasetten ekonomiye, ibadetlerden ceza hukukuna, borçlar hukukundan aile hukukuna, insan haklarından çevre hukukuna kadar geniş bir alanla irtibatlı olan Fıkıh/İslâm hukukuna dair Cumhuriyet dönemi boyunca yayınlanmış akademik çalışmaların kapsamlı bir bibliyografyası bu güne kadar çıkarılmamıştır. Elinizdeki bu kitap, söz konusu eksikliği gidermek üzere hazırlanmış olup, 1928-2012 tarihleri arasında Türkçe olarak yayınlanmış kitap, tez, makale ve tebliğ mahiyetindeki akademik literatürü, konu başlıklarına göre ortaya koymayı hedeflemektedir. Fıkıh/İslâm hukuku ile ilgili araştırmaların giderek genişlik ve derinlik kazandığı ülkemizde, böyle bir eserin, hem geçmiş çalışmaların değerlendirilmesi, hem de gelecek çalışmaların inşa edilmesine önemli bir katkı yapacağı açıktır.
Historians of the Ottoman Empire " intends to comprise all the historians who have lived and produced within the geographical limits of the Ottoman Empire -- regardless of the language." The Historians of the Ottoman Empire is intended to be a major reference work for scholars and students of the Middle East, North Africa, South-East Europe, and the Caucasus, as well as for non-specialists interested in the histories and cultures of these regions.
Ottoman works in the digital age The Research Center for Islamic History, Art and Culture (IRCICA) develops a new system, the first of its kind, which allows researchers around the world to easily work on Ottoman documents.
Launched in Spring of 2011, Ottoman History Podcast is an online radio program dedicated to accesbile and academic discussion of new topics in the history, society and culture of the Ottoman Empire and Middle East. Guests include scholars and students from a variety of disciplines. Episodes in English and Turkish are released on a weekly basis.
In 1884 Sultan Abdul-Hamid II gifted the Library of Congress with a collection of Ottoman Turkish, Persian, Arabic works that he had richly embossed with this inscription in English, French and Ottoman: "Gift made by H.I. M. the Sultan Abdul-Hamid II to the national library of the United States of America through the Honorable A.S. Hewitt Member of the House of Representatives A.H. 1302-1884 A.D."
Historiography of Early Modern Ottoman Europe (HOE) Database HOE is a collection of meta-data focusing on historiographical writing of Early Modern Ottoman Europe (1500-1800). It brings together published and unpublished primary sources (chronicles, histories, hagiographies, inscriptions, maps…), as well as secondary material (“Main Section”). It also offers information on specific collections, as well as a wide variety of references to tools and resources useful to those navigating the research questions of Early Modern historiography (“Tools Section”). HOE provides information on the author(s), title(s), contents, manuscript(s) and edition(s) of the main sources related to the topic.
SALT Araştırma: Digitized French Press in the Ottoman Empire.
"This project, a collaboration between İstanbul Atatürk Library, Bibliothèque Nationale de France and Institut Français d’Études Anatoliennes, aims to digitize newspapers and magazines published in French from the second half of the 19th century to the 1930s. More than a hundred titles, including periodicals printed in the Ottoman Empire as well as media published by the Young Turks of Europe, are now accessible. İstanbul Atatürk Library’s collection of Franco-Ottoman press has been digitalized by SALT Research, while the collection of Bibliothèque Nationale de France can be accessed through Gallica."
Ottoman Harem - The Male and Female Slavery in Islamic Law = İslâm hukukunda kölelik-câriyelik müessesesi ve Osmanlı'da harem / Ahmed Akgündüz ; translater, Şükran Vahide. Hardcover – 2015.
Translation of the Turkish edition published in 1995. Part One: the distortions and misrepresentations of male and female slavery and the Harem, together with some examples. Part Two: male and female slavery in non-Muslim societies and in other religions. Part Three: the institutions of male and female slavery in Islamic law. Part Four: aspects of the practice of slavery, male and female, in the Ottoman state. Part Five: an investigation of the question: what is the Harem? Part Six: a lady governess's memoirs of the Harem. Part Seven: the replies to a number of important questions on these subjects.
Osmanlı'da harem ve cariyelik : 19. yüzyıl [Harem ve cariyelik] / metin Dr. T. Cengiz Göncü ; editör Dr. İlona Baytar, Mehmet Ali Güveli. [olin HQ1726.7 .G655 2015]
Osmanlı saray teşkilatı içinde Harem-i Hümâyûn’un kavram olarak hem somut (fiziki7mimari) hem de soyut birer karşılığı vardır. Fiziki bir yapı olarak Harem-i Hümâyûn, padişahın, aile üyelerinin ve onlara hizmet eden cariyelerin yaşadıkları, dışa kapalı bir mekânı temsil ederken, mimari olarak incelendiğinde Osmanlı saray teşkilat, teşrifat ve âdâbın tüm izlerinin, mekâna yansıdığı görünür. ...
Edited by Kate Fleet, University of Cambridge; Suraiya N. Faroqhi, Istanbul Bilgi Üniversitesi; Resat Kasaba, University of Washington
The History covers the period from the end of the eleventh century, with the arrival of the Turks in Anatolia, through the emergence of the early Ottoman state and its development into a powerful empire in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, encompassing a massive territory from the borders of Iran in the east, to Hungary in the west, and North Africa and the Arabian Peninsula in the south. The last volume covers its destruction in the aftermath of the First World War, and the history of the modern state of Turkey which arose from the ashes of empire.
Conversion of Maliyya, Islamic and Christian dates. The Maliyya (or Maliyye, Maliye) calendar became the official calendar in the Ottoman Empire by order of Selim III in 1789 A.D., but it was already in use since 1677 A. D. It is based on the Julian calendar concerning the lengths of the months and the leap years. The beginning of the year was the 1st of Adar (corresponding to 1st of March in the Julian calendar). At the beginning of each year the number of the year was chosen to be identical to the year of the traditional Hijri calendar at this day. Therefore after approximately 32 years a jump in the number of the year occurred (e. g. after 1220 followed 1222 and after 1254 followed 1256). This rule was broken in 1888 A.D. when it was decided to continue the sequence of years without a gap. Therefore in the following period until the abrogation of the Maliyya calendar in 1928 there is a difference in the number of the years in the Maliyya and the Islamic calendar of up to three. In addition to the Gregorian calendar, the Julian calendar is provided for didactic reasons, or eventually for the conversion of historical Julian dates (e.g. form Protestant countries of from Russia).