Skip to main content

ENGL/ASRC 2870: Freedom Writes: The Literature of Global Justice Struggles: Searching for Books

The Classic Catalog

NOTE: The Library has two catalogs: the Classic Catalog contains records for Cornell holdings only. The Worldcat Catalog also contains records for holdings in libraries outside of Cornell. See the descriptions below for more information;


Features of the Classic Catalog:

Includes all of Cornell's subscribed e-books, journal titles, recent issues of print journals, and books on order or in the process of being added to the collection.

Better records for some law, music, rare book, and manuscript resources, as well as items in some large online historical collections.

Ability to browse by subject heading -- subheadings.

Ability to search by call number.

Search tips:

Search by title, journal title, author or begin with a relevance keyword search

When searching for titles, leave off the initial article (the, a, etc.)

Click the Long View to view subject heading links.

Choose the Quick Limit pull-down menu to limit to format

Use the Post Limit button to limit by language, format, date or date range. In this catalog, you can also limit your search to a specific library on campus.

Worldcat Catalog

Features of the Worldcat Catalog:

Many resources from Cornell and from libraries beyond Cornell

Includes some articles from several OCLC databases (see the Finding Articles tab for more complete coverage)

Search tips:

To search for an exact title, or phrase, use quotation marks (e.g. "near east")

Use the Advanced Search to search by author, title, or subject and to limit by language, format, date or date range

To search for variations of a word, enter at least three letters of the terms followed by a question mark (?) or an astirisk (*).
For example, entering either politi? or politi*  retrieves records that contain politics or political.

After viewing results, you may Refine Your Search to a specific format (e.g., journals, dvds,), year, language, etc.

Web Accessibility Assistance