American Indian and Indigenous Studies: Reference Materials

Numerous American Indian tribes are surveyed from ancient times to the twentieth century in this reference collection. The coverage beings with overview essays on the ten major cultural/geographical areas: Arctic, California, Great Basin, Northeast, Northwest Coast, Plains, Plateau, Southeast, Southwest, and Subarctic. These are followed by more than 300 alphabetically arranged entries on individual tribes. The set concludes with ten appendices: Educational Institutions and Programs; Festivals and Pow-wows; Museums, Archives, and Libraries; Organizations, Agencies, and Societies; Populations of U.S. Reservations; Reservations: US; Reserves and Bands: Canada; Time Line; Mediagraphy; and Bibliography. The final item is a comprehensive subject index.

An introduction to the broad field of scholarship concerning the Eastern Woodlands region and its indigenous peoples, as well as a guide to reasearch on a number of more specialized topics withing the same field. In four parts.

More than 450 entries provide a panorama of little-known information about the rich inventiveness of indigenous peoples of North, Central, and South America. To be included in the book, the item must have originated in one of those three regions, have been used by Indian people, and have been adopted in some way by other cultures.

Despite the fact that 565 federally recognized tribes exist on the continent of North America, non-Native Americans typically know very little about the modern world of American Indians. In a few instances, the uneasy coexistence of the two cultures has served to create controversy, such as fake Indians fraudulently leveraging ethnicity-based benefits, U.S. officials disposing of nuclear waste near reservations, and sports clubs basing mascots on cultural stereotypes. This unique survey scrutinizes the historical background as well as the contemporary issues of American Indian societies as both part of--and completely separate from--the world around them. "Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today" features subjects commonly discussed, including reservations, poverty, sovereignty, the problem of solid waste on reservations, and the lives of urban Indians, among other contemporary issues. Organized into ten sections, the book also provides helpful sidebars and informative essays to address topics on casinos and gaming, sexual identity, education, and poverty.

An insightful and valuable resource on the major conflicts between American Indian tribes and Euro-American settlers from the arrival of Columbus to the Battle of Wounded Knee. Provides essential information on major battles and military campaigns, treaties, significant sites, American Indian tribes, and notable military and political leaders, both Indian and white. Extensively illustrated.

Thorough, objective and systematic essays on the history, culture and current status of all federally recognized Native American groups -- approximately 400 in all. Covering groups that have roots in Canada and the U.S. as well as portions of Mexico/Central America, South America, the Caribbean and the Pacific.

A 20-volume encyclopedia of North American Indians being published over an extended period of time. Summarizes knowledge of the history and the cultures of all North American Indians and Eskimos, from the earliest prehistoric times to the present, including those peoples from America north of Meso-America including a large part of northern Mexico, all of the continental United States, Canada, Alaska, Greenland and Siberia. Each volume is independent of the other volumes and contains separate chapters on all the tribes within a geographic area, and includes illustrations, bibliographies, and an index.

Covers important aspects of Native American life in the U.S. during the 20th Century. Signed articles are written by historians, anthropologists and other specialists, who represent a wide range on the political spectrum. More than half of the articles are devoted to 20th century Native nations.

Provides background on the Native American struggle for sovereignty and an in-depth look at the issues that surround this struggle. Includes detailed chronology that traces the history of Native Americans and their interactions with various governments; biographical sketches of leaders; a compilation of major U.S. Supreme Court cases; statistics; lists of print and non-print resources; a glossary; and an index.