Skip to main content

Newspaper Indexes in Olin Library--U.S.: U.S.
Newspapers

This guide lists newspaper indexes currently or previously available in the Olin Library reference collection or in the Olin microform area.

Indexing available for U. S. Newspapers (listed by Title)

Atlanta Journal/Atlanta Constitution Index (Atlanta, GA)
Call Number: + AI 21 .C76
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1971 to 1979 (Atlanta Constitution only, AI 21 .C75+), 1984 to 2007
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 250 (1868 to 2009)
Online indexing:

Boston Globe Index (Boston, MA)
Call Number: +AI 21 .B63 B43
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1982 to 2007
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 2357 (March 1872 to 2009)
Online indexing:

California News Index (various California papers including the LA Times and San Francisco Chronicle)
Call Number: + AI 21 .C15
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1970 to 1975

Chicago Tribune Index (Chicago,IL)
Call Number: ++AI 21 .N581
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1972 to 2007
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 226 (1848 to date, incomplete)
Online indexing:

Christian Science Monitor Index (Boston, MA)
Call Number:  + AI 21 .C55
Current Location: Olin Stacks
Printed indexes: 1949 to 2007
Microform access: Film 418 (1908 to 2009)
Online indexing:

Denver Post Index (Denver, CO)
Call Number: Microfiche 252 (1963-1974)
Location: Olin Lower Level, Microfilm stacks
Online indexing:

Geneva (New York) Newspaper Index
Call Number: + AI 3 .G32
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1806 to 1829 [in 2 volumes]
Online indexing: none

Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Honolulu, HI)
Call Number: + AI 21 .H77 and + AI 21 .H772
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1929 to 1983 [5 volumes in 4 physical volumes]
Online indexing: none

Los Angeles Times Index (Los Angeles, CA)
Call Number: Olin Stacks ++AI 21 .N582
Printed indexes: 1972 to 2007, see also 1970 to 1975 in Calif. News Index
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 3173 (12/4/1881 to date)
Online indexing:

Minneapolis Star Tribune Index (Minneapolis, MN)
Call Number: AI 21 .M66
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1971 to 1981
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 248 (1964-1980, 1984-1985)
Online indexing: 10/1991 to date; (LexisNexis Academic)

National Observer Index (Silver Spring, MD)
Call Number: +AI 21 .N27
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1969 to 1977
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 2939 (1962-1977)

New York Daily Tribune Index (New York, NY)
Call Number: AI 21 .N5
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1875 to 1906
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 181 (1841-1842, 1866-1924)
Online indexing: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Daily Tribune/New York Herald Tribune/New York Tribune (1841-1926)

New York Times Index (New York, NY)
Call Number: ++AI 21 .N56
Current Location: Olin Reference
Printed indexes: 1851 to 2016
Microfilm access: Library Annex Film 288 (1851 to 2000); Olin Library Film 288 (2001 to date)
Online indexing:

Personal Name Index to the New York Times Index
Call Number: Library Annex  + AI 21 .N56 Index
Printed indexes: 1851 to 1974, 1975 to 1999
See also The New York Times Index, above.

San Francisco Chronicle Index (San Francisco, CA)
Call Number: +AI 21.S25 S19
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1976 to 2007 see also 1970 to 1975 in Calif. News Index
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 227 (December 1865 to 2009)
Online indexing:

Texas Observer Index (Austin, TX)
Call Number: + AI 21 .T35 (1954-1980) and + AI 21 .T35 1983 (1971-1981)
Location: Library Annex. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1954 to 1981 [2 volumes]
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 3781 (1954/1956-1977)
Online indexing: 1/19/2001 to date; (Alt-Press Watch)

Times Picayune Index (New Orleans, LA) Title: Newspaper index: The New Orleans Times-Picayune
Call Number: ++AI 21 .N583
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1972 to 1982
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 246 (1837-1908, 1952-1980)
Online indexing:

Trumansburg (New York) Free Press

Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 4648 (1932-2012)

Trumansburg (New York) Newspapers, Index to
Call Number: + AI 3 .T78 W45 2003
Current Location: Olin Reference
Printed indexes: 1827 to 1940
Online indexing: none

USA Today Index (Arlington, VA)
Call number: + AI 21 .U8 U84
Location: Olin Stacks. Search Library Catalog by call number; see notes field for current location.
Printed indexes: 1990 to 2007
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 6314 (1990-2009)
Online indexing:

Village Voice (New York, NY)
Call Number: Indexed in Access, + AI 3 .A16;
last ten volumes in Olin Reference, previous volumes in Olin stacks
Printed indexes: 1975 to 2009. Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 4401 (1955 to date).
Online indexing:

Wall Street Journal Index (New York, NY)
Call Number: Olin + AI 21 .W18; Management AI21 .W18
Location: Olin Stacks; Management Library Office
Printed indexes: Olin stacks: 1955 to 2007; Management Library: 1958 to date
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 834 (1889-2004 incomplete, 2005 to date)
Microfiche Index: Olin Library Microfiche 2811 (1995:November)
Online indexing: ProQuest Historical Newspapers

[Washington] Evening Star. Index. (Washington, DC)
Call Number: Film 2408
Location: Olin Lower Level, Microfilm stacks
Microfilm access: 1894 to 1970
Online indexing: 10/13/2006 to date; (LexisNexis)

Washington Post Index (Washington, DC)
Call Number:AI 21 .N584 and + AI 21 .N585
Current Location: Olin Stacks
Printed indexes: 1979 to 2007
Microfilm access: Olin Library Film 196 (1877 to date)
Online indexing:

Web Accessibility Assistance