Skip to main content

Newspaper Indexes in Olin Library--U.S.: Ithaca
Newspapers

This guide lists newspaper indexes currently or previously available in the Olin Library reference collection or in the Olin microform area.

News Sources for Ithaca and Tompkins County

Ithaca and Tompkins County, New York (12 entries):

Cornell Chronicle
Online browsing and searching: eCommons, 1969-1996. Cornell Chronicle Web site, 1996 to date.
Microfilm access: Olin Film 3126 (1969 to 2010)

Cornell ClipFile Index Database
Call Number: Olin Reference in Electronic Text Center (ETC)
Electronic Index only: 1999 - 2002 in Olin  Electronic Text Center on the ETC10 computer. Nearly 10,000 entries. Open this FileMaker database using the shortcut in the folder on the desktop.
Notes: Cornell-related articles only from Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, and Ithaca Times. Before 1999, see the next entry, Cornell ClipFile Index.

Cornell ClipFile Index
Call Number: Olin Reference + LD 1357.5 .C815
Print Index: 1989 - 1998 [index to articles about Cornell; see notes for earlier years]
Notes: Cornell-related articles only from Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, Ithaca Times. Before 1989, see the next entry, Cornell Clippings File.

Cornell Clippings File
Call Number: Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts Archives 13-8-3367
Print Index: Newspaper clippings filed in folders by subject, circa 1940 to 1989.
Online indexing: See Guide to the Cornell Clippings File, 1940-1989 for a list of subjects and years covered.
Notes: Cornell-related articles only from Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, Ithaca Times.

Cornell [Daily] Sun
Note: Print publication frequency changed from daily, Monday through Friday, to Monday/Tuesday/Thursday: "The Sun publishes a print edition on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday during the academic year..." October 2, 2015 masthead.
Call Number: ++ LH1 .C805 (see https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/330140 for a list of the print issues available in the Rare and Manuscript Collections and the Olin Stacks [print holdings are incomplete])
Print Index: 1880 - 1993, not complete [index to articles about Cornell; see Cornell ClipFile Index]
Electronic indexing: 1999 - 2002, [index to articles about Cornell] Cornell ClipFile on ETC10, Olin Electronic Text Center
Online indexing and full text:
The Sun and the Library are collaborating on a project to digitize the newspaper from 1880 through 2000
. [Nearly complete from September 1880 through May 1986 currently. Click on Dates to see the exact coverage.]
08/20/2006 to date: Access World News
November 2015 to date: Use the Search box on Cornell Daily Sun home page
Microfilm access: Library Annex Film 1106 (1880-Oct. 1943, Oct. 1946-Nov. 9, 1959); Olin Film 1106 (Nov. 10, 1959 to date)

The Cornell Review
"Conservative, contrarian, anti-establishment."
Online searching and full text:
2009? to date: Use the Search box in the right-hand column of the home page.

Ithaca Journal
Other Titles: Ithaca Daily Journal (1872-1913); Ithaca Journal-News (1919-1933)
Print Index: 1989 - 1998 [index to articles about Cornell; see Cornell ClipFile Index]
Online indexing: Available in the Newspapers section of ProQuest (08/09/1999 to date).
Available in NYS Historical Newspapers (07/03/1872 to 12/31/1900)
The Ithaca Journal website has an searchable online archive of the most recent two years.
Microfilm access: Olin Film 882 (1872 to date)

Ithaca Journal Obituary Index (Ithaca NY)
Call Number: Olin Reference +CT 100 .I89
Print Index: 1860 - 1876, 1900 - 1914, 1980 - 1999. Obituaries only.

Ithaca Times [online version is called Ithaca.com]
Other Titles: Ithaca New Times (1972 - 1978)
Print Index: 1989 - 1998 [index to articles about Cornell; see Cornell ClipFile Index]
Online indexing and full text: January 27, 2000 to date. Ithaca Times News Archive: Advanced Search
Microfilm access: Olin Film 4383 (1972 to date)

Ithaca Voice
Online indexing and full text: June 2014 to date. Searchable and browseable from the home page.

Tiny Town Times: Tiny News for Ithacan-Americans
Online indexing and full text: 07/12/2009 to 06/11/2016. Searchable and browseable from the home page.

Tompkins Weekly
Online indexing and full text: Started June 2014. Online archive only explicitly covers February 2016 to date. Use the search box at upper right on the home page.