Skip to main content

STS/BSOC/HIST 4131 Comparative Environmental History: The Twentieth-Century World (Fall 2016): Articles

A guide to library research

How to find articles

The Steps

Find a database by browsing the list here or under Databases' subjects

Click on the link to get into the database

Search the database for articles

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text!

 
If an article isn't available full text through a database...

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title)

Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need

If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

 

 

If there is no Get it! Cornell link/button, take the title of the journal NOT the title of the article, into the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.

Essentials

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

Look for Get it! Cornell links in your Google Scholar search results. These links connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.