Skip to main content

Medieval Manuscripts: A Finding Guide: Secondary Literature

This guide describes resources and strategies for finding manuscripts (focusing on medieval manuscripts)

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text!

 
If an article isn't available full text through a database...

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title)

Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need

If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

If there is no Get it! Cornell link/button, take the title of the journal (NOT the title of the article), into the Classic Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.

Essentials

Search for scholarship on a specific manuscript(s)

Tip: Footnotes often provide a wealth of information about a manuscript's history, current location, editions, etc. that an individual archive's catalog, index, or webpage do not.

Use library catalogs (especially Worldcat) to search by manucript name or number.

Use databases to search by manuscript name or number: 

International Medieval Bibliography Online Use the "manuscripts" field under "advanced search" and "more search possiblities" on the lower part of the screen.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

MLA International Bibliography

In Principio: Incipit Index of Latin Texts (CD-Rom, Olin Electronic Text Center). Searches by the first line, the incipit, of Latin manuscripts.

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

Look for Get it Cornell links in your Google Scholar search results. These links connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)