Skip to main content

GOVT 3413/SOC 3410 Modern European Society and Politics: News
and Media

Guide to research resources for contemporary European politics and society.

News

Credit: Ed Yourdon on flickr; Creative Commons license.

European newspapers [selected; list under construction]

Canard enchaîné  France. (1915-) Weekly (Wednesday) satirical journal, featuring investigative journalism.  No advertising; sparse website (by design). Current PRINT in Olin Current Periodicals Room; archive Olin Library microfilm on order.

Charlie Hebdo.  France. (1992-).  Olin Library microfilm 8769.

Repubblica  Rome, Italy (1976-) (Factiva)

Le Monde.  France.  (1944-) (Also: PressDisplay and online edition)

Le Monde diplomatique.  (1954-) Monthly; opinion and analysis on current affairs.  Also: published in more than 70 editions in more than two dozen languages.

Liberation. (Paris) Single user access to the archive: contact Olin Reference, okuref at cornell.edu for password.

Neue Zurcher Zeitung Zurich, Switzerland. (1780-)  German language. Also:  full searchable digital archive.

Zeit Germany.  Weekly, in-depth journalism, widely read.

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung.  Frankfurt, Germany (1949-). Independent network of correspondents;  online edition with some free content.

Suddeutsche Zeitung  Munich, Germany. (1945-) Online.

Morgunbladid.  Iceland (1913-) Current 3 years.  Also Icelandic Film 1.

Das Parlament. Germany (1951-)  German politics. Online, 2009-.

La Stampa.  Turin, Italy ( ).  Online, 1992-.

Current news

Historical news

  • Access World News
    Selected full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Coverage varies and may be  highly selective/spotty.
  • LexisNexis Academic -- News Files  
    The dates covered vary by source, but LexisNexis has some of the deeper backfiles. Includes English and foreign-language newspapers. Tip: For more precise searching, choose the Power Search. Adjust the date defaults as needed. To view all the content in LexisNexis Academic, select Sources and browse by category. Click the small "i" next to source titles to determine years covered for each source.
  • Factiva
    Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Find Financial Times here.
  • Keesings World News Archive, 1931 - .
    An archive of original, accurate and objective articles providing a digestible but detailed summary of world events, drawn from a wide range of press and other sources in a variety of languages.
  • Proquest Historical Newspapers
    Full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times (1851-2007), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), the Washington Post (1877-1994), Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Times of India (1838-2001) every page from every issue in PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
  • Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
    Timely English translations of selected articles from the foreign press, best for politically sensitive areas or issues. This site will eventually include content from 1941 - 1996; check database for current coverage.
    • World News Connection Edit/Delete Quick Stats
      English translations of news items through 2013 from non-US open source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals and books. Primarily military, political, environmental, scientific, technical and socioeconomic issues and events. See FBIS, below.
  • EastView Universal Databases  Rating
    Full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents. Primarily Russian/Slavic languages, but some English.