Skip to main content

Psychology: A Research Guide: Internet

Psychology research resources are available in several libraries on the Cornell campus. The strongest collections are in Olin Library and Mann Library. This guide lists major reference works in psychology. Click on the TABS to access each section.

Internet Portals

Athabasca University Psychology Resources. Athabasca, Canada: Centre for Psychology, University of Athabasca, 1996-2001.

The Athabasca University Psychology Resources list was designed for AU students majoring in psychology, but it is available to anyone with an interest in psychology. The site contains links to over 20 different sub-fields of psychology from Abnormal to Environmental to Social and Clinical. The site also includes links to demonstrations and tutorials, writing resources, journals, and organizations.

The Encyclopedia of Psychology. Ed. William Palya. [Jacksonville]: Department of Psychology, Jacksonville State University, 2003-.

The Encyclopedia of Psychology is a highly useable and searchable guide to facilitate browsing in any area of psychology.

ETS Test Collection Database. Princeton, NJ: Educational Testing Service, 2003.

A library of 20,000 tests and other measurement devices providing information on standardized tests. The database is a comprehensive listing of assessment instruments from the early 1900s to the present.

The History of Psychology. Ed. C. George Boeree. Shippensburg, PA: Shippensburg University.

Boeree has built an "e-text" site about the historical and philosophical background of psychology. It was originally designed for his own students but is open to anyone with an intellectual interest in the discipline. It contains sections on the Ancients, the Middle Ages, the 1800s, and the 1900s and includes timelines, maps, biographies of significant people, and articles on major issues in the field.