Skip to main content

Psychology: A Research Guide: Guides
& Handbooks

Psychology research resources are available in several libraries on the Cornell campus. The strongest collections are in Olin Library and Mann Library. This guide lists major reference works in psychology. Click on the TABS to access each section.

Guides & Handbooks

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5. 5th ed. Washington: American Psychiatric Association, 2013.
(Olin Ref RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2013 +; also available online)

DSM-5 is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. With successive editions over the past 60 years, it has become a standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field.

See also Highlights of Changes from DSM-IV-TR to DSM-5 for an extensive overview of the changes in the new edition.

Dyer, Colin ed. Beginning Research in Psychology: A Practical Guide to Research Methods and Statistics. Oxford: Blackwell Publishers, 1995.
(Uris Ref BF 76.5 .D94x 1995)

This is a guide to experimental, not bibliographic, research methods. It is essentially a textbook for working with numeric data, conducting case studies and observational research, and using statistics. See also The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods (2004).

Handbook of Psychology. 2nd ed. 12 vols. New York: Wiley, 2012.
(Online)

Scholarly articles on every aspect of psychology. Volume titles: v. 1. History of psychology -- v. 2. Research methods in psychology -- v. 3. Biological psychology -- v. 4. Experimental psychology -- v. 5. Personality and social psychology -- v. 6. Developmental psychology -- v. 7. Educational psychology -- v. 8. Clinical psychology -- v. 9. Health psychology -- v. 10. Assessment psychology -- v. 11. Forensic psychology -- v. 12. Industrial and organizational psychology.

International Handbook of Psychology. Ed. Albert R. Gilgen. New York: Greenwood, 1987.
(Olin Ref BF 38 .I612)

A country-by-country survey of the state of psychology worldwide. Covers the historical development of the profession, publications, research activities, and the role of psychologists in the society. Useful information on organizations and research institutes is also included.

Lindzey, Gardner and Elliot Aronson, eds. The Handbook of Social Psychology. 4th ed. 2 vols. New York: Random House, 1998.
(Olin Stacks Oversize HM 251 .L75 1998 +)

Lengthy, signed essays on the major topics in social psychology are followed by an extensive list of references for further research. There is a separate subject and author index in the back of each volume. For shorter articles on more topics, see The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology.

Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO). New York: Oxford University Press.
(Online)

Scholarly research reviews in article format from the extensive collection of Oxford Handbooks covering psychology (164 titles as of this date). Click on Psychology at the top of the OHO home page.

The Psychologist's Companion: A Guide to Scientific Writing for Students and Researchers. 4th edition. Robert J. Sternberg and Karin Sternberg, Cornell University. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
(Olin Ref BF 76.8 .S73x 2003)

"Tailored specifically for undergraduate students, this Companion offers uniquely comprehensive coverage of the topics necessary for successful communication in psychology, making it a valuable resource for research methods and introductory psychology courses. Readers will learn how to effectively plan and write papers in accordance with the latest style guidelines from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition; present data in posters and talks; and evaluate their own and others' work." --publisher's web site.

Web Accessibility Assistance