Skip to main content

Psychology: A Research Guide: Encyclopedias
& Dictionaries--Specific

Psychology research resources are available in several libraries on the Cornell campus. The strongest collections are in Olin Library and Mann Library. This guide lists major reference works in psychology. Click on the TABS to access each section.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Specific

Campbell, Robert Jean. Campbell's Psychiatric Dictionary. 9th edition. New York: Oxford UP, 2009.
(Olin Ref RC 437 .H5 2009 +)

Gives brief definitions for thousands of concepts common to psychiatry and such related disciplines as clinical neurology, constitutional medicine, genetics and eugenics, mental retardation and deficiency, social service, and occupational therapy.

Emerging Trends in the Social and Behavioral Sciences: An Interdisciplinary, Searchable, and Linkable Resource. New York: Wiley, 2015- .
(Online only)

Similar to a subject encyclopedia. Each essay in this collection is drawn from the core social and behavioral sciences disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science, psychology and sociology. Hyperlinks accompany each essay, which direct readers to other relevant essays in the collection. Designed to grow organically with additional essays from relevant disciplines, Emerging Trends provides an up-to-date resource on current scholarship. Browse the research topics from psychology.

Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders. Ed. Fred R. Volkmar. New York: Springer, 2013.
(Online only)

"[A]pproximately 1,500 entries divided by the major conceptual areas of ASD and PDDs, including: - Research trends and findings - Behavior/speech - Communication - Treatments - Education." (Summary).

Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy. Eds., H Michel Hersen, Johan Rosqvist, Alan M. Gross, Ronald S. Drabman, George Sugai, and Robert Horner. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2005.
(Online only)

"Although the focus is on technical applications, entries also provide the historical context in which behavior therapists have worked, including research issues and strategies. Entries on assessment, ethical concerns, theoretical differences, and the unique contributions of key figures in the movement (including B. F. Skinner, Joseph Wolpe, Aaron T. Beck, and many others) are also included." (Abstract).

Encyclopedia of Critical Psychology. Ed. Thomas Teo. New York: Springer, 2014.
(Online only)

Table of Contents: Introduction - Definition - History - Traditional debates - Critical debates - International relevance - Practice relevance - Future directions

Encyclopedia of Human Emotions. Eds., David Levinson, James J. Ponzetti, Jr., Peter F. Jorgensen. 2 vols. New York: Macmillan Reference, 1999.
(Olin Ref BF 531 .E55x 1999; also Mann Ref)

Contains 146 alphabetical entries, written by academic researchers who study emotions or treat emotional disorders. Entries include bibliographies for further research.

Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence. 2 vols. New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, 1994.
(Olin Ref BF 431 .E55 1994; also Mann Ref)

"Contains over 250 articles...dealing with all aspects of human intelligence..., written and edited by the foremost scholars in the world in the field" (Preface). The subject and biographical articles have substantial bibliographies of additional sources. Entries are included for major intelligence tests. Indexed.

Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development. Eds., Marshall M. Haith and Janette B. Benson. 3 vols. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2008.
(Online and Mann Ref RJ 131 .E53 2008 in print format)

An entry point into all of the existing literature [as of 2008] on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology.

Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory. New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, 1992.
(Olin Ref BF 318 .E56 1992; also Mann Ref)

"The 189 signed articles cover various aspects of human and animal research and provide 26 biographical sketches.... Entries of about a thousand words end with bibliographies. This source provides excellent overviews of topics as preparation for in-depth research" (Choice). Thoroughly indexed.

The Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties. New York: Facts on File, 1989.
(Olin Ref RC 535 .C63 1989; also Mann Ref)

"More then 2,000 short entries list the terms used by psychologists for fears, descriptions of things/situations/feelings that some people fear... and the names of some outstanding people in [this] field." (Foreword) Indexed.

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion. 2nd edition. Ed. David A. Leeming. Boston: Springer, 2014.
(Online only)

"This reference work provides a definitive and intellectually rigorous collection of psychological interpretations of the stories, rituals, motifs, symbols, doctrines, dogmas, and experiences of the world's religious and mythological traditions. A broad range of psychological approaches are used in order to help readers understand the form and content of religious experience as well as offer insight into the meanings of religious symbols and themes." (from the publisher's summary).

Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming. New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, 1993.
(Olin Ref BF 1078 .E56 1993)

"This excellent encyclopedia treats more than 400 topics.... Each entry contains... clear definitions written and signed by experts, descriptions of current research, references for further reading. Does not include dream interpretation" (Choice).

Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment. Ed., Rocio Fernandez-Ballesteros. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2003.
(Online only)

Useful for psychology students, academics and practitioners interested in assessment and measurement.

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology. Eds., Roy F. Baumeister, Kathleen D. Vohs. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2007.
(Online only)

"More than 600 signed entries cover a comprehensive range of topics in social psychology, especially useful in this burgeoning field newly enriched by contributions from related disciplines. Entries are clearly phrased and the place of individual concepts in the overall field is shown. Covers the history of the discipline, while methods central to research in social psychology are described in detail...." (Guide to Reference).

The Freud Encyclopedia: Theory, Therapy, and Culture. New York: Routledge, 2002.
(Olin Reference BF 173 .F6176x 2002)

Extensive entries on Freud, his ideas, and his influence on culture and major thinkers. Substantial bibliographies.

Kastenbaum, Robert, ed. Encyclopedia of Adult Development. Phoenix: Oryx, 1993.
(Olin Ref BF 724.5 .E53x 1993; also Mann, ILR)

This reference work explores the psychological, physical and social changes that occur in humans after adolescence until death. Substantial, signed articles with bibliographies.

Nadel, Lynn, ed. Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science. 4 vols. New York: Nature Pub. Group, 2003.
(Olin Ref BF 311 .E53x 2003+)

Focuses on traditional problems in psychology but reflects new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s. Some are introductory and provide an overview, others are written at depth and with considerable technical detail. The articles are ranked (Introductory, Intermediate, Advanced), contain extensive bibliographies, and suggest further readings in most cases.

The Sage Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology. Ed., Amy Wenzel. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2017.
(Online only)

"[M]ore than 1,400 entries will provide information on fundamental approaches and theories, various mental health disorders, assessment tools and psychotherapeutic interventions, and the social, legal, and cultural frameworks that have contributed to debates in abnormal and clinical psychology" (Abstract).

The Sage Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender. Ed., Kevin L. Nadal Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2017.
(Online only)

"The Sage Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender is an innovative exploration of the intersection of gender and psychology-topics that resonate across the disciplines and inform our everyday lives. The Encyclopedia looks at issues  gender, identity and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level" (Abstract).

The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. Eds., Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Alan Bryman, Tim Futing Liao. 3 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2004.
(Online and Olin Ref H 62 .S11 2004 +; also ILR Ref)

The first encyclopedia to cover inclusively both quantitative and qualitative research approaches, this set provides clear explanations of 1,000 methodologies, avoiding mathematical equations when possible with liberal cross-referencing and bibliographies. Each volume includes a list of works cited, and the third contains a comprehensive index and lists of person names, organizations, books, tests, software, major concepts, surveys, and methodologies. (American Libraries, May 2005).

The Sage Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology. Ed., Harold L. Miller, Jr. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2016.
(Online only)

"[E]xamines the contemporary landscape of all the key theories and theorists, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses." (Abstract).

Web Accessibility Assistance