Skip to main content

Multicultural Literature of the United States: Latino/a Writers

This guide contains tips and strategies for locating biographical and critical information on American writers grouped by ethnicity (e.g., African-American, Jewish-American, etc.), as well a bibliography of resources, both in print and online.

Sandra Cisneros

Reference Sources for Chicano, Latino/a, & Hispanic-American Writers

Volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, (Uris Reference, Dean Room , south wall)as follows:

  • Chicano Writers, First Series (DLB v 82)
  • Chicano Writers, Second Series (DLB v 122)
  • Chicano Writers, Third Series (DLB v 209)

Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States : the Literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and other Hispanic Writers. Kanellos, Nicolas.  New York: Greenwood, 1989. (Olin stacks PQ 7420.2 K16)
"Designed to make accessible to the English-language reader a literary world that, for the most part, has been articulated only in Spanish", (Preface) this is a guide to representative Hispanic writers living and writing in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. Mexican American writers are excluded. Entries are divided into three sections: biography, major themes, and survey of criticism. Each entry ends with a substantial bibliography of works by and about the author. A general bibliography on Hispanic literature and an index round out the volume.

Chicano Literature: A Reference Guide. Martinez, Julio A. and Francisco A. Lomeli. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1985. (Olin Ref PS 153 M4 C53)
This guide provides an alphabetical arrangement of entries on major Chicano authors and important topics in the study of Chicano literature. The term "Chicano literature" is defined as the literary output of Mexican-Americans since 1848. Each author entry includes brief biographic information, a discussion of major works, a bibliography of the author's writings, and sources of criticism.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature. Kanellos, Nicolas., ed. New York: Greenwood, 2008. 3 vols. (Olin Ref PS 153 H56 G74 2008+)
"Written for students and general readers, this encyclopedia surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain. Included are more than 700 alphabetically arranged entries written by roughly 60 expert contributors." [publisher]

Handbook of Hispanic cultures in the United States. Literature and Art. Houston, Tex. : Arte Publico Press c1993-c1994. (Uris Ref E 184 S75 H23 v.1; also Olin stacks + E 184 S75 H23 v.1)
Part of a four-volume set, this book surveys the history and development of Puerto Rican, Cuban, Chicano, and Hispanic literatures in the U.S. Chapters also focus on topics such as the Hispanic oral tradition, Latina women writers, the literary language of Hispanics, and Latino cinema. Each chapter includes an extensive bibliography of primary and secondary sources.

Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and Fiction.
Contains approximately 48 plays and 13,000 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. When complete this database will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present. About 30% of the database is previously unpublished or rare materials.

Masterpieces of Latino Literature. New York: HarperCollins, 1994. (Library Annex PQ 7081 A1 M41 1994)
This source includes 140 articles on classic and newly popular works of fiction and nonfiction (arranged alphabetically), and 33 general essays about the plays, short stories, poetry, and essays of major Latino writers and thinkers. Essays on specific works include plot summary, brief descriptions of major characters, and critical analysis of the work.