Skip to main content

Multicultural Literature of the United States: Jewish American Writers

This guide contains tips and strategies for locating biographical and critical information on American writers grouped by ethnicity (e.g., African-American, Jewish-American, etc.), as well a bibliography of resources, both in print and online.

Philip Roth

Reference Sources for Jewish-American Writers

Twentieth Century American Jewish Fiction Writers, edited by Daniel Walden. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1984. (Dictionary of Literary Biography) Uris Ref PS129 D55 v.28, Dean Room, south wall

Jewish American Women Writers : a Bio-bibliographical and Critical Sourcebook. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994. (Olin Ref PS 153 J4 J48x 1994)
Composed mainly of signed entries alphabetically arranged by writer's name, this source provides biographical information, surveys of criticism, bibliographies, and scholarly analysis for 57 nineteenth and twentieth-century novelists, poets, and dramatists. An introduction provides historical context, while a closing chapter surveys Jewish American women's autobiography. Appendices include a glossary and a supplemental bibliography. Indexed.

Shatzky, Joel, and Michael Taub. Contemporary Jewish-American Novelists : a Bio-critical Sourcebook. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. (Olin Ref PS 374 J6 S53 1997)
Addresses the lives and works of Jewish-American novelists whose major works were written after World War II. Alphabetically arranged by author's last name, each signed entry contains a brief biography, a survey of the author's major works and themes, an overview of the author's critical reception, and selected bibliographies of both primary and secondary sources. Indexed, with a short bibliography of supplemental readings.