Skip to main content

Library Research Guide for Sociology 4950/4960: Senior Honors Thesis: Finding
Articles

Periodical Article Indexes

 

Sociology Source Ultimate

Contains citations and full text articles from over 300 journals dating back to 1895, over 500 books and monographs, and over 6,000 conference papers. Also provides additional citations and abstracts from more than 600 fully indexed and over 1,000 selectively indexed journals. Covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including anthropology, criminology, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, welfare, and others.
 

Sociological Abstracts

Provides citations to articles from over 1,800 journals, serials, conference papers, books and dissertations from 1963 onward. Abstracts of the articles have been included since 1974. Covers sociology and related disciplines including community development, culture, social structure, demography, human biology, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, health and medicine, law, religion, social psychology and women's studies. It is international in scope and also contains all of the citations from the Social Planning/Policy & Development Abstracts. In addition to keyword searching, retrieval is enhanced by subject searching based upon the Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms. Links to the full text of many articles are provided.

Social Sciences Citation Index

A multidisciplinary database indexing the literature of all fields, including the social sciences. Covers over 1,700 scholarly journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as listing individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Subject searching is based only upon key terms from citations and article abstracts; there is no thesaurus or consistently applied subject terms. A unique feature of the Web of Science is that it allows you to track footnotes and find related material based on where a particular reference has been cited, e.g. you can find where your professor's works have been cited and whose work your professor has cited.

Google Scholar

Although uneven in coverage and far from comprehensive, this search engine provides a simple, convenient way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Results are displayed by Google's relevancy algorithm, based partially on how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

Cornell Library facilitates links to the full text of licensed or subscription materials whenever possible, but you must connect to Google Scholar via the Library Gateway or the Library Catalog to take advantage of this feature.

If the full text of the item you need is not available via GS, be sure to search the Catalog or other Library resources.

ProQuest Research Library

Research Library, formerly known as Periodical Abstracts, is an interdisciplinary database available through the

ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts over 1,600 general interest magazines, news sources and selected scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Provides inks to the full text of many articles. Also includes citations and abstracts for selected television and radio programs.

 

NOTE: Numerous other periodical index databases are available on related subjects such as economics, development, rural sociology, population, women's studies, psychology and ethnic studies. Online indexes are also available for geographic areas such as Europe, Latin America, Asia, and Africa.

Library homepage Articles' search

Search a number of databases at one time using Summon, or go into individual databases for your searches.

Summon / Search for Articles

Summon (Articles & Full Text) searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print books and other physical items).

Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, Summon doesn't search all library resources. Use subject-specific databases (link to the right of Articles & Full Text) for comprehensive or focused searching.

Finding Articles

Periodical articles are an excellent source for detailed analysis or up-to-date information on a topic. These articles are from materials that are published "periodically" or in daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, annual or even irregular intervals. They are found in newspapers, magazines, journals, yearbooks, and other sources.

Periodicals are available in several formats: bound paper volumes (like books), microfiche or microfilm, and increasingly as electronic text.

Indexes and Abstracts

Periodical Indexes and Abstracts are Reference resources that identify and locate articles in periodical publications. They are often subject-oriented and list author, title, name of periodical, volume, pages and date of publication in entries called bibliographic citations. For information about bibliographic format and how to cite resources that you use in your research, go to Citing Sources.

Abstracts are specialized indexes that also include summaries of the content of the articles with their citations.

Periodical Indexes and Abstracts also come in several formats: traditional and historical bound paper volumes, stand alone CD-ROM computer workstations, and more recently as networked databases available via the Cornell University Library, or through links in the Library Catalog. For more information about finding electronic reference sources through the Cornell University Library, go to Search Tips for Databases.