Skip to main content

Library Research Guide for Sociology 4950/4960: Senior Honors Thesis: Reading Suggestions on
Research Methodology

Reading Suggestions on Research Methodology

Research methods database

Overviews

  • Firebaugh, Glenn. . Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2008. , see online. Seven Rules for Social Research
    (Olin   H62 .F438 2008) Table of Contents

  • Goldthorpe, John H. On sociology. 2 Vols. 2nd ed. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 2007.
    (Olin   HM585 .G656 2007), see Table of Contents online.

  • Hedström, Peter. Dissecting the Social: On the Principles of Analytical Sociology. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005.
    (Olin   HM24 .H446 2005)

  • Hunt, Morton M. Profiles of Social Research: The Scientific Study of Human Interactions. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1985.
    (Olin   H62 .H93), also ILR
  • Scott, John Conceptualising the social world : principles of sociological analysis. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2011
    (Olin    HM571. S36 2011)

  • Singleton, Royce A. Jr. and Bruce C. Straits, and Margaret Miller Straits. Approaches to Social Research. 4th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.,
    (Mann   H62 .S4776 2005)
    see Table of Contents online.

  • Stinchcombe, Arthur L. The Logic of Social Research. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2005.
    (Olin   HM511 .S75 2005), see Table of Contents online.

General References

  • Bouma, Gary D., and G.B.J. Atkinson. . 2nd ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. A Handbook of Social Science Research
    (Olin   H62 .D583x 1995), also ILR, Management

  • Cramer, Duncan and Dennis Laurence Howitt. The Sage Dictionary of Statistics: A Practical Resource for Students in the Social Sciences. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2004.
    (Mann Ref   HA17 .C73 2004)

  • Creswell, John W. Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2003.
    (Olin   H62 .C6963x 2003)

  • Johnson, William A. [et al]  The sociology student writer’s manual. 6th edition. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 2010
    (Olin Ref   HM585 .S638 2010)

  • Kempf-Leonard, Kimberly, ed. Encyclopedia of Social Measurement. 3 Vols. San Diego, CA; London: Academic, 2005.
    (Olin Ref   H62 .E53 E53 2005 +)

  • Lewis-Beck, Michael S., Alan Bryman and Tim Futing Liao, eds. The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. 3 Vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2004.
    (Olin Ref   H62 .S11 2004 +)

  • Payne, Geoff and Judy Payne. Key Concepts in Social Research. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2004.
    (Olin   H61 .P39 2004)

  • Ritzer, George, ed. Encyclopedia of Social Theory. 2 Vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2005.
    (Olin Ref   HM425 .E47 2005 +)

  • Vogt, Paul W. Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide for the Social Sciences. 3rd ed. Thousand Oaks, CA.: Sage Publications, 2005
    (Mann Ref   HA17 .V64 2005)

Specific Methods

  • Alreck, Pamela L. and Robert B. Settle. . 2nd ed. Chicago: Irwin, 1995. The Survey Research Handbook
    Olin   HN29 .A45 1995), also ILR, Hotel

  • Arksey, Hilary and Peter Knight. Interviewing for Social Scientists: An Introductory Resource with Examples. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1999.
    (Mann   HM526 .A75x 1999)

  • Bailey, Carol A. A Guide to Field Research. Thousand Oaks, CA: Pine Forge Press, 1996.
    (Olin   H62 .B27x 1996)

  • Barbour, Rosaline S. and Jenny Kitzinger, eds. Developing Focus Group Research: Politics, Theory, and Practice. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 1999.
    (Olin   H61.28 .D48x 1999)

  • Bickman, Leonard and Debra J. Rog, eds. Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1998.
    (Olin   H62 .H24534x 1998 +), also ILR

  • Black, Thomas R. Doing Quantitative Research in the Social Sciences: An Integrated Approach to Research Design, Measurement and Statistics. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1999.
    (Olin   H62 .B55x 1999)

  • Buikema, Rosemarie, Gabriele Griffin and Nina Lykke, eds.  Theories and methodologies in postgraduate feminist research : researching differently. New York : Routledge, 2011.
    (Olin   HQ1180 .T475 2011)

  • Coffee, Amanda. Making Sense of Qualitative Data: Complementary Research Strategies. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1996.
    (Olin   HM48 .C6x 1996), also Hotel

  • Denzin, Norman K. and Yvonna S. Lincoln, eds. The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research. 3rd ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2005.
    (Olin   H62 .H2455 2005 +), see Table of Contents online.

  • Fowler, Floyd J, Jr. Improving Survey Questions: Design and Evaluation. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 1995.
    (Olin   HN29 .F67x 1995)

  • Hardy, Melissa and Alan Bryman, eds. Handbook of Data Analysis. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2004.
    (Olin   H62 .H224 2004 +)

  • Hedrick, Terry E., Leonard Bickman and Debra J. Rog. Applied Research Design: A Practical Guide. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1993.
    (Olin   H62 .H3713x 1993)

  • Hesse-Biber, Sharlene, Christina Gilmartin and Robin Lydenberg, eds. Feminist Approaches to Theory and Methodology: An Interdisciplinary Reader. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
    (Olin   HQ1180 .F43 1999)

  • Hughes, Jason, ed.  SAGE visual methods. Los Angeles: SAGE, 2012.
    (Olin   HM500 .26 2012)

  • King, Nigel, Christine Horrocks. Interviews in qualitative research. Los Angeles : SAGE, 2010.
    (Olin   HM48.K56 2010)

  • Kissman, Ulrike Tikvah, ed. Video interaction analysis : methods and methodology. Frankfurt am Main ; New York : Peter Lang, c2009.
    (Olin   HM500 .V545 2009)

  • Kvale, Steiner and Svend Brinkmann. InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing. 2nd ed. Los angeles, CA: Sage publications, 2009.
    (Olin   HM48 .K9 2009)

  • Lofland, John and Lyn H. Lofland. Analyzing Social Settings: A Guide to Qualitative Observation and Analysis. 4th ed. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth/Thompson Learning, 2006.
    (Mann   HM571 .L82 2006)

  • Miles, Matthew B. and A. Michael Huberman. Qualitative Data Analysis: An Expanded Sourcebook. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1994.
    (Olin   H62 .M63 1994 +), also ILR, Management, Hotel

  • Morgan, Stephen L., ed. Handbook of Causal Analysis for Social Research. Dordrecht: Springer, 2013.

  • Peterson, Robert A. Constructing Effective Questionnaires. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage publications, 2000.
    (Olin   HN29 .P45x 2000 +)

  • Rea, Louis M. and Richard A. Parker. Designing and Conducting Survey Research: A Comprehensive Guide. 3rd ed. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2005.
    (Mann   HA31.2 .R43 2005), see Table of Contents online.

  • Reinhartz, Shulamit. Feminist Methods in Social Research. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992. Also available in print,
    (Olin   HQ1180 .R448x 1992),

  • Renzetti, Claire M. and Raymond M. Lee, eds. Researching Sensitive Topics. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1993.
    (Olin   H62 .R43x 1993)

  • Roulston, Kathryn. Reflective Interviewing: A Guide to Theory and Practice. Los angeles, CA: SAGE, 2010.
    (Olin   HM526 .R68 2010)

  • Schonlau, Matthias, Ronald D. Fricker, Jr. and Marc N. Elliott. Conducting Research Surveys via E-Mail and the Web. Santa Monica, CA: RAND, 2002. Also in print,
    (Olin   HA29 .S366x 2001), also Mann

  • Schwandt, Thomas A. Dictionary of Qualitative Inquiry. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, CA.: Sage Publications, 2001.
    (Olin   H61 .S4435x 2001)

  • Seidman, Irving. Interviewing as Qualitative Research: A Guide for Researchers in Education and the Social Sciences. 2nd ed. New York: Teachers College Press, 1998.
    (Mann   H61.28 .S45x 1998)

  • Silverman, David. Interpreting qualitative data : a guide to the principles of qualitative research. London ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, 2011.
    (Olin HM571.S53 2011)

  • Squazzoni, Flaminio.  Agent-based computational sociology. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley & Sons, 2012.
    (Olin   HM511 .S686 2012)

  • Taagepera, Rein.  Making social sciences more scientific : the need for predictive models. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
    (Olin  H62 .T22 2008)

  • Weisberg, Herbert F., Jon A. Krosnick and Bruce D. Bowen. Introduction to Survey Research, Polling, and Data Analysis. 3rd ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1996.
    (Olin   HN29 .W3994x 1996)

  • Wright, Daniel B. Understanding Statistics: an Introduction for the Social Sciences. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1997.
    (Uris   HA29 .W75 1997), also Hotel

  • Yin, Robert K. Case Study Research: Design and Methods. 3rd ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2003.
    (Olin   H62 .Y56x 2003)

Research Help

Nancy Skipper
Sociology Librarian 
Olin Library, Room 106
(607) 255-5176

Ask a Librarian

For more service options: