Skip to main content

Library Research Guide for Sociology 4950/4960: Senior Honors Thesis: Background
Information

Finding Background Information

The materials listed below are a selection of reference resources for finding authoritative background information and context for topics you will be covering in this class. Note the call numbers and library locations for these materials and check the reference collections for additional sources of background information. The authors of articles in reference books often provide bibliographies of selected books and articles for further study.

Annual Review of Sociology
   Palo Alto, CA: Annual Reviews Inc.
   Also available in print (Non-Circulating),
   (Olin Library Graduate Study Serials, Southwest corner of the 5th floor. HM1 .A61)

Clear, in-depth descriptions make this an ideal introduction to sociology for beginners as well as an invaluable reference tool for more advanced students and teachers.

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language
        Johnson, Allan G.
        2nd ed. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 2000. 413 p.
        Also in print at:
        Location: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating)
        Call Number: HM425 .J64x 2000

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
        Ritzer, George, ed.
        11 Vols. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2007.
        Also in print at:
        Location: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating)
        Call Number: HM425 .B53 2007 +

A definitive reference source for students, researchers, and academics. Commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of scholars and teachers, including Cornell faculty. Arranged alphabetically in 11 volumes. Detailed subject index at the end. Valuable selective bibliographies lead to further reading. Provides explanations of key concepts and extended explorations of major topics. Includes research and theoretical developments from outside of the United States, especially Western Europe. Historical depth as well as more recent developments. Additional features include a timeline and a lexicon by subject area. The online version provides additions three times a year, extending and updating coverage and functionality.

Dictionary of the Social Sciences
   Calhoun, Craig, ed.
   New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
   Also available in print,
   (Olin Ref   H41 .D53x 2002 +)

Comprehensive, authoritative single-volume work, featuring over 1,800 concise definitions of key terms. Covers the vocabularies of anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism, the Dictionary is an integrated, easy-to-use, A-to-Z reference tool.

Encyclopedia of Sociology
   Borgatta, Edgar F. and Rhonda J. V. Montgomery, eds.
   5 Vols. 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.
   Also available in print,
   (Olin Ref   HM35 .I565 2006)

Significant encyclopedia in a burgeoning new field. Includes some 250 signed entries. Examines how economics and society are interrelated. Entries are cross-referenced and include succinct bibliographies. Subject index. Advisors include Cornell Professor Richard Swedberg.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
   Smelser, Neil J. and Paul B. Baltes, eds.
   26 Vols. Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier, 2001.
   Also available in print,
   (Olin Ref   H41 .I58x 2001 +)

The printed edition of this online database runs to 24 volumes plus 2 index volumes. Both are alphabetically organized and extensively cross-referenced throughout. Covers theory and methodology in core disciplines, including sociology. Emphasizes the interconnectedness among disciplines, including mathematics and science.

Oxford Bibliographies Online, Sociology
Oxford University Press

Publisher statement: "A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research. Each entry is a selective guided tour through the key literature on a topic, receives multiple peer-reviews as well as Editorial Board approval, and is designed to facilitate a research experience with no dead ends.” …  "The site is updated regularly, with 50-75 articles added per year to each subject area."

More information http://www.oxfordbibliographiesonline.com/obo/page/sociology

Research Help

Nancy Skipper
Sociology Librarian 
Olin Library, Room 106
(607) 255-5176

Ask a Librarian

For more service options:

Web Accessibility Assistance