Skip to main content

ENGLISH 1111: Writing Across Cultures: Who's Afraid of Sofia Vergara? Latinas on Film: Finding Background Information

Communication Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias, etc.

General and Comparative

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Suzanne Oboler and Deena J. González, editors in chief
New York: Oxford University Press, 2005
Olin Library Reference E 184 .S75 O97 2005

Four volumes draw together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences of U.S. Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A to Z articles ranging in length from 500 words to 7,500 words written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Each entry has its own bibliography and cross-references and is signed by its author.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture  Ed. Jay Kinsbruner and Erick D. Langer. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Latinas in the United States : A Historical Encyclopedia

edited by Vicki L. Ruiz and Virginia Sánchez Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c2006

Some 600 signed articles, the majority of which are biographical entries on women who had some significant local or national impact as educators, activists, community organizers, and artists. (Guide to Reference)

Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States
edited by Ilan Stavans
Danbury, CT: Grolier Academic Reference, 2005
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 E587 2005

Interdisciplinary reference book that chronicles Latino contributions in the United States. In its four volumes, 650 entries, 2000 pages and 1.2 million words, Encyclopedia Latina explores every aspect of Latino life in America from a myriad of perspectives, spanning the arts, media, cuisine, government and politics, science and technology, business, health, and sports, among others.

Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture
Cordelia Chávez Candelaria, executive editor
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004
Olin Library Reference E 184 .S75 E53 2004 +

U.S. culture has been profoundly impacted by contributions from Mexico and the rest of Central America, South America, and the Spanish Caribbean. These contributions and their adaptations in the United States are showcased in nearly 500 essay entries on noted people, festivities, items, terms, movements, sports, food, events, places, visual and performing arts, film, institutions, fashion, literature, organizations, the media, and much more.

Latino Encyclopedia
editors, Richard Chabrán and Rafael Chabrán
New York: M. Cavendish, 1996
Olin Library Reference E 184 .S75 L357x 1996 +

Presents articles that offer a view of the Latino experience in the United States. The collection covers major aspects of Latino life, including culture & history, family life, education & academic achievement, paths towards citizenship, Latinos & politics, and Latinos in the labor force. Six volumes, includes index.

The Latino Studies Reader: Culture, Economy & Society
edited by Antonia Darder and Rodolfo D. Torres
Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 1998
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 L3627x 1998 +

Recent work from Latino scholars and social critics. To reflect the diverse ethnic and socioeconomic backgrounds of Latinos living throughout the United States, this reader draws on the experiences of Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, Cubanos, Caribbeans, Central and South Americans in a comparative perspective. Organized around four major themes: 1) culture, history, and society; 2) politics; 3) gender, sexuality, and power; 3) and labor and the global economy. All entries include extensive bibliographies.

Sourcebook of Hispanic Culture in the United States
edited by David William Foster
Chicago: American Library Association, 1982
Olin Library Stacks Z 1361 .S7 S72

Focusing on Mexican Americans, Puerto Ricans, and Cuban Americans, this bibliography begins each section with an introductory essay that discusses issues in specific discipline (history, anthropology, sociology, literature, art) as they relate or are relevant to a specific Hispanic American group. The essays are supplemented with an annotated bibliography of scholarly works on the topic.

History and Chronology

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: History
edited and introduced by Alfredo Jiménez
Houston: Arte Público Press; Madrid, Spain: Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, 1993-1994
Library Annex E 184 .S75 H23
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 H23

Surveys Hispanic culture from its Iberian origins to the present-day situation of Hispanics in the United States. Divided into four parts composed of 14 chapters. Part 1 treats historical and ethnographic background material. The second division covers the Hispanic presence in early U.S. history. In the third part, the focus shifts to society and culture in Spain and the New World, including the Spanish borderlands, through the eighteenth century. The final section examines the three largest Hispanic groups in the United States -- Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, and Cubans -- over the last 200 years. Black and white photographs accompany the narrative, and each chapter has its own bibliography. Concludes with an elaborate chronological table and a thorough index.

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: A Historical Bibliography
Albert Camarillo, editor
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 1986
Olin Library Stacks Z 1361 .S7 L35

Contains 1382 citations (Latino Studies-related) drawn from America: History and Life between 1973-1985. America: History and Life is a complete bibliographical reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2000 journals published worldwide.

Film, Television, Theater & other performing arts

Film: A Guide to Resources

A Cornell University Guide to film research sources.

Hispanics in Hollywood: An Encyclopedia of 100 Years in Film and Television
Luis Reyes and Peter Rubie
Hollywood, CA: Lone Eagle Pub., 2000
Olin Library Stacks PN 1995.9 .H47 R49x 2000 +

400 films and television shows from the past 100 years are listed with credits, synopses, production information relating to Hispanic stars and their contributions, as well as critical commentary. Alphabetical listing of Hispanic/Latino actors, actresses, directors, producers and others. Includes biographical information and black & white photographs. See also Hispanics in Hollywood: An Encyclopedia of Film and Television (New York : Garland Pub., 1994) by Reyes and Rubie -- Olin Library PN 1995.9 .H47 R49x 1994 +.

The Hispanic Image on the Silver Screen: An Interpretive Filmography from Silents into Sound, 1898-1935
Alfred Charles Richard
New York: Greenwood Press, 1992
Olin Library Stacks PN 1998 .R54x 1992

Lists over 1,800 films dealing with Hispanic topics, themes, and characters. Each entry includes a brief scenario which details the film's Hispanic connection. Entries are arranged chronologically from 1898 to 1935, with in-depth annotations, cross-references and four indexes. A study of Hollywood's treatment of Hispanics worldwide. Richard has organized the work for those interested in assessing the effects that motion pictures have had on the viewing public in establishing and perpetuating accepted stereotypes. The role of censorship, the Production Code Administration, the Motion Picture Society for the Americas, the Latin American market, and Hollywood's version of Hispanic history are fully covered.

Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
edited by Eladio Cortés and Mirta Barrea-Marlys
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003
Olin Library Reference
PQ 7082 .D7 E63x 2003 +

Presents the history of the theater of Latin America as well as the history of the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States. It contains entries describing the most important playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements. Biographical entries contain factual information about the dramatist's life and works, a list of works, and a secondary bibliography.

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: Literature and Art
edited and introduced by Francisco Lomelí
Houston, TX: Arte Público Press; Madrid, Spain: Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, 1993-1994
Library Annex E 184 .S75 H23
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 H23

The initial chapter of this handbook offers in-depth discussions of the literary expression of Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, and Cuban Americans. These are followed by probing essays on aesthetics, Latina writers, autobiography and biography, theater, literary language, music, cinema, and the press. Especially noteworthy are the essay on oral tradition, the thought-provoking chapter devoted to the exile experience, the extensive end-of-chapter bibliographies, and the lengthy index. A collaborative effort of 18 contributing scholars.