Skip to main content

Psychology Research: Resources and Support for Faculty & Students: Finding
Tests

A linked outline of the library's resources and research services available to psychology students and faculty. Also a course guide for PSYCH 4910/6910: Research Methods in Psychology. Click on the TABS to access each section in this guide.

Psychological Tests

Buros, Oscar K., ed. Mental Measurements Yearbook. Lincoln, Neb: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, 1937- .
(Olin Reference Z 5814 .P8 B96; also Mann Ref, and ILR Ref)

Designed to assist users in the fields of education, psychology and industry to make intelligent use of standardized tests. It provides critical descriptions of these tests as well as extensive bibliographic references to books and articles about them. The latest edition is always a completely revised publication supplementing, but not superseding, earlier volumes. The MMY's two volumes consist of Tests and Reviews, which make up the major portion of the publication, and a number of Indexes, located at the end of volume II. A searchable index is now available online.

ETS Test Collection Database. Princeton, NJ: Educational Testing Service, 2003.
(Online only)

A library of 20,000 tests and other measurement devices providing information on standardized tests. The database is a comprehensive listing of assessment instruments from the early 1900s to the present.

PsycTESTS. Washington: American Psychological Association.
(Online only)

This database focuses primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available. Most records link to a variety of materials describing the test in peer-reviewed literature, technical reports, or dissertations as well as links to related peer-reviewed literature describing test development, review, or use. All records include a summary that describes the test, with its purpose and some history of its development. Most records include the actual test instrument.

Tests in Print VIII: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests. Lincoln, Neb: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska-Lincoln / Distributed by the University of Nebraska Press, 2011.
(Mann Ref Z 5814 .P8 B96 2011)

Contains test descriptions and numerous indexes: Index of MMY test reviewers -- Index of titles -- Index of recently out-of-print tests -- Index of acronyms -- Classified subject index -- Publishers directory and index -- Index of names -- Score index.

Reference Help

Tony Cosgrave's picture
Tony Cosgrave
Contact:
109 Uris Library

Cornell University

Ithaca, NY 14853

(607)255-7148
Website