Skip to main content

Psychology Research: Resources and Support for Faculty & Students: Finding
Articles

A linked outline of the library's resources and research services available to psychology students and faculty. Also a course guide for PSYCH 4910/6910: Research Methods in Psychology. Click on the TABS to access each section in this guide.

Article Databases

PsycINFO. Washington: American Psychological Association. Covers 1887 to date.
The primary indexing and abstracting database for locating articles and research in psychology and related disciplines.
Incorporates the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms (click on the Thesaurus link at the top). The catalog record for the 2005 edition of the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms is here.
PsycARTICLES. Washington: American Psychological Association. 1988- .
A searchable database of full-text articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. This is a subset of the articles indexed in PsycINFO.
ScienceDirect. New York: Elsevier Science.
Online, full-text journals covering the physical, natural, and social sciences. Of interest are the collections of neurology and psychology titles in ScienceDirect.
SUMMON, aka Articles & Full Text
Summon searches over 800,000 articles and ebook chapters owned by Cornell. Click on the "Articles & Full Text" link on the Cornell Library home page, enter your search terms, then click Go.
Web of Science Core Collection, including Social Sciences Citation Index. Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1956 to date.
A multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts covering the literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.  SSCI also allows you to find the articles and books that are cited in the bibliographies of all the articles they index.

Web of Science has a Cited Reference Search function (click on the blue triangle to the right of Basic Search to search).
Medline [PubMed version]. [Bethesda, Md.]: National Library of Medicine.
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Google Scholar. Mountain View, CA: Google.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. Description from About Google Scholar.

Annual Reviews

Each year, Annual Reviews publishes articles that extensively review the literature of psychology on important recent research topics.

 

Annual Review of Psychology. 1950 to date.

Also of interest:

Annual Review of Neuroscience. 1978 to date.

Web Accessibility Assistance