Skip to main content

Psychology Research: Resources and Support for Faculty & Students: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias,
& Guides

A linked outline of the library's resources and research services available to psychology students and faculty. Also a course guide for PSYCH 4910/6910: Research Methods in Psychology. Click on the TABS to access each section in this guide.

Reference Resources

APA Dictionary of Pyschology. Washington: American Psychological Association, 2007.
(Olin Reference BF 31 .A63 2007)
The largest association of psychologists in the world - the American Psychological Association - presents the definitive information on the language of the field, including: 25,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions; balanced coverage of over 90 subareas across the field of psychology.
Colman, Andrew M. A Dictionary of Psychology. 4th ed. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2015.
(Online. Print version: Olin Reference BF 31 .C65 2015)
An authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. Over 9,500 entries.
Emerging Trends in the Social and Behavioral Sciences: An Interdisciplinary, Searchable, and Linkable Resource. New York: Wiley, 2015- .
(Online only)
Similar to a subject encyclopedia. Each essay in this collection is drawn from the core social and behavioral sciences disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science, psychology and sociology. Hyperlinks accompany each essay, which direct readers to other relevant essays in the collection. Designed to grow organically with additional essays from relevant disciplines, Emerging Trends provides an up-to-date resource on current scholarship. Browse the research topics from psychology.
Handbook of Psychology. 2nd ed. 12 vols. New York: Wiley, 2012.
(Online)
Scholarly articles on every aspect of psychology. Volume titles: v. 1. History of psychology -- v. 2. Research methods in psychology -- v. 3. Biological psychology -- v. 4. Experimental psychology -- v. 5. Personality and social psychology -- v. 6. Developmental psychology -- v. 7. Educational psychology -- v. 8. Clinical psychology -- v. 9. Health psychology -- v. 10. Assessment psychology -- v. 11. Forensic psychology -- v. 12. Industrial and organizational psychology.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences.
James D. Wright, editor-in-chief. 26 volumes. New York: Elsevier, 2015- .
(Online edition is regularly updated. Print version: Olin Reference H 41 .I58 2015)
The best current subject encyclopedia embracing all disciplines in the social sciences. Includes several thousand signed articles, over 90,000 bibliographic references and 150 biographical entries.
The Psychologist's Companion: A Guide to Scientific Writing for Students and Researchers. 4th edition.
Robert J. Sternberg and Karin Sternberg, Cornell University. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
(Olin Reference BF 76.8 .S73x 2003)
"Tailored specifically for undergraduate students, this Companion offers uniquely comprehensive coverage of the topics necessary for successful communication in psychology, making it a valuable resource for research methods and introductory psychology courses. Readers will learn how to effectively plan and write papers in accordance with the latest style guidelines from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition; present data in posters and talks; and evaluate their own and others' work." --publisher's web site.
Psychology: A Research Guide
(Online)
An extensive, online annotated bibliography of print and online resources in these categories: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries, Guides and Handbooks, the CUL Catalog, Bibliographies, Biographical Sources, Periodical Indexes, Web Portals, APA Style, and Guides to Graduate Study. We update this site regularly with new titles and welcome your recommendations and suggestions for additional resources, as well as evaluations of existing resources.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods.
Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Alan Bryman, Tim Futing Liao, eds. 3 volumes. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2004.
(Online. Print version: Olin Reference H 62 .S11 2004)
"The first encyclopedia to cover inclusively both quantitative and qualitative research approaches, this set provides clear explanations of 1,000 methodologies, avoiding mathematical equations when possible with liberal cross-referencing and bibliographies. Each volume includes a list of works cited, and the third contains a comprehensive index and lists of person names, organizations, books, tests, software, major concepts, surveys, and methodologies." American Libraries, May 2005
For The Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms, see the PsycINFO entry in the next tab, Finding Articles. >>