Skip to main content

Linguistics and Language: A Research Guide: Journal Articles
& Disserations

This is an extensive, annotated list of the print and online resources available for research in linguistics. Click on the TABS to access each Section in this guide.

Finding Journal Articles & Dissertations

Most of these titles can also be found by searching Databases Names in the Library web site.

PRIMARY INDEXES AND DATABASES FOR LINGUISTICS:

Bibliographie Linguistischer Literatur. (BLL) v. 4- , 1978- .
(Olin Z 7003 .B58++; latest 10 volumes in Olin Reference)

BLL covers articles in periodicals and essays in collective works, including conference and congress proceedings and festschriften. The number of periodicals it covers has gradually increased from 123 in Band 1 to about 770 titles in Band 12 (1986). Coverage is international in scope and quite current, with only a one- or two-year time lag.

Besides a division on general linguistics it also includes divisions on English, German, and Romance linguistics. Each of these divisions is subdivided into a form section, a systematic section, and a language section (the latter missing of course in the general linguistics division). The systematic section of each division contains all the entries for that division classified under appropriate subject categories. These entries may also qualify for listing again in the form and/or language sections. This whole classification scheme is fully explained in the introduction which, beginning with Band 7, appears in both German and English, as do the headings. A cumulative author index and subject and name index complete each annual volume.

This index and the Bibliographie Linguistique/Linguistic Bibliography are international in scope. The BLL, however, is more current and has the advantage of a subject index. On the other hand it does not begin to cover the variety of languages that the Bibliographie Linguistique does. (De Miller)

Bibliographie Linguistique [de l'Année ... et Complément des Années Précédentes]. Dordrecht: Martinus Nijhoff, 1939-2004. Annual.
(Olin Stacks Z 7001 .P451, 1948-2004; Library Annex Z 7001 .P45, 1939/1947 in 2 volumes)

Linguistic Bibliography Online, the online version of Bibliographie Linguistique covering 1993 to date and edited by Hella Olbertz and Sijmen Tol

Notes for the printed version:This serial index is of primary importance in linguistic research since it provides comprehensive, worldwide coverage of periodical articles, dissertations, and contributions to collected works such as festschriften and conference proceedings, including substantial reviews of such publications. Though comprehensive, it is not current. The bibliography of 1985, published in late 1987, has 16,600 entries from well over 1,000 serials and 320 collective works. Most of the entries are for items published in 1984 and 1985, but a substantial number are for works earlier than this. Another drawback of this bibliography is that it does not have a subject index. A classification scheme detailed in the table of contents partially compensates for this lack.

In very broad terms the bibliography has a section on general linguistics and related disciplines that is followed by various sections devoted to language groups and languages. An author index is included at the end of each volume; writers of book reviews, however, are not included in this index. Many of the entries contain brief notes.

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
An index to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, essays, and book reviews in the field of linguistics and language-related research. LLBA also provides brief abstracts for each work. Covers 1967 to date.

Linguistic Bibliography Online, see the entry for Bibliographie Linguistique.

Linguistics Abstracts Online.
Contains abstracts of scholarly articles appearing in linguistics journals from around the world. Also includes abstracts from articles in related fields.

MLA International Bibliography.
An international index and database providing references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals in literature, folklore, literary theory, semiotics, and linguistics. Useful for finding literary criticism of a particular author or work, as well as articles on literary theory, women's studies, popular culture, and performing arts.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
Formerly called Dissertation Abstracts, PQD&T indexes covers over 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available full text for immediate free download and printing. Coverage begins with 1861.

RELATED INDEXES AND DATABASES:

Language Teaching. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1982- .
(Olin Stacks PB 1 .L28)
International in coverage although all abstracts appear in English. Includes coverage of materials on English as a second language as well as other material pertinent to modern language teaching. Subject and author indexes appear in the last issue of each volume. This quarterly has undergone several name changes since it first began (i.e. Language Teaching Abstracts (1968-1974) and Language Teaching and Linguistics Abstracts [1975-1981]).

PsycINFO. Washington: American Psychological Association. 1887- .
Access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Includes applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology and intervention, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, and treatment and prevention.

Second Language Instruction/Acquisition Abstracts. San Diego: Sociological Abstracts, 1991-1997.
(Library Annex +Z 7001 .S45)
This twice-yearly publication abstracts books, dissertations and articles in the field of second language acquisition. Topics covered include child language acquisition, bilingual education and translation. SLIA is an offshoot of LLBA and uses LLBA's thesaurus and reproduces some of LLBA's abstracts. Articles are selectively abstracted from around fifty specialized journals with some relevant articles from general linguistics journals. There is representative coverage of major European languages. For those involved in any aspect of second language acquisition this is a valuable snapshot of the literature in the field. Includes a book review bibliography, author index, source index and subject index.

Sociological Abstracts. OCLC FirstSearch.
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the world's leading journals in sociology. It covers articles published since 1974. There is extensive coverage of sociolinguistics. It is the online version of the printed index, Sociological Abstracts, 1952/53-. (Olin Reference + Z 7163 .S67). Note the earlier coverage of the print version.

Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index. Institute for Scientific Information, 1956- .
A multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts covering the literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. The unique feature of SSCI is that it allows the user to find related material based on where a particular reference has been cited.

ONLINE ARTICLE REPOSITORIES

Increasingly scholars are submitting their papers to open access archives. These digital repositories capture, store, index, preserve, and redistribute digital research material. Many materials archived in digital repositories are searchable by search engines such as Google, as opposed to being sequestered in proprietary databases such as JSTOR or ProQuest.

LingBuzz
LingBuzz is an openly accessible repository of scholarly papers, discussions and other documents for "generative" linguistics. On top of its own papers, it also aggregates papers from the semantics archive, the OT archive, etc. making them all available and searchable in one place. The ultimate goal of lingBuzz is however larger than an archive of papers: It aims at gradually becoming both a community center for generative linguistics and an experiment in semi-automated article ranking.

semanticsarchive.net
This archive is intended to make it easier to find and distribute papers of interest to natural language semanticists.

LingBuzz: Distributed Morphology
LingBuzz has a separate archive for morphology, although this can also be searched through the general site.

ROA: Rutgers Optimality Archive
The Rutgers Optimality Archive is a distribution point for research in Optimality Theory.