Skip to main content

Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: A Research Guide: Periodical
Indexes

A guide to discovering the extensive FGSS resources available in the Cornell University Library and beyond. Click on the TABS to access each section in this guide.

Periodical Indexes

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index. [was Medieval Feminist Index]
Indexes
An index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed. The time period covered is 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. and the geographic area is Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included.

 

Gender Studies in Agriculture.
Indexes
This database contains the bibliographic description of articles from 240 agricultural and social science journals and chapters from books present at the libraries at Wageningen Agricultural University. In some cases an abstract has been added. The articles are on the position of women in rural and agricultural societies. Most concern the Netherlands, Western European countries or developing countries.

 

GenderWatch. 1970-present.
Full Text/Indexes
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.

 

International Women's Periodicals.
Full Text/Indexes
Covers a variety of topics on the history of women. Historical women's periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights--woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example--grew in the United States and England. This Web site provides access to the full text of some of the most significant and least-widely held women's periodicals produced from the middle of the nineteenth century through the 1920s.

 

LGBT Life with Full Text. Ipswich, MA: EBSCO Publishing, 2005-present.
Full Text/Indexes
Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs; also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus with over 6,400 terms.

 

Potter, Clare. The Lesbian Periodicals Index. Compiled and edited by Clare Potter. Tallahassee: Naiad Press, 1986.
Indexes/(Olin Reference and Rare Reference HQ 75.6 .U5 P86)
Clare Potter previously worked at Cornell University and dedicated her Lesbian Periodicals Index to the "Ithaca women's community, 1973-1975 -- when sisterhood was in flower."
Locating articles in feminist, lesbian, and gay periodicals from the 1960s-80s is notoriously difficult due to the lack of indexing created for most of these titles.  Clare Potter's index helps tremendously with lesbian topics by providing author and subject access to articles in 42 specifically lesbian periodicals.  The coverage is primarily 1968-1982, but it also includes references to the earliest U.S. lesbian periodical, Vice Versa, 1947-1948.  Still, the titles that received Potter's careful indexing "constitute only a small part of the periodical literature that is available."
Other reference sources that help provide access to the feminist, lesbian, and gay press include Alternative Press Index (printed index, 1969- , Olin Library AI 3 .A25 +, last 10 volumes in Reference; online, 1991- , AltPressIndex) and Alternative Press Watch (online: Alt-Press Watch).  These focus on journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change, and they cover key feminist, gender, and sexuality titles including off our backs, Sinister Wisdom, Lesbian Contradiction, and The Advocate, but neglect others including Gay Community News, The Body Politic, Lesbian Connection, and the Gay Activist.
Small, regional, and political periodicals contain valuable content for people researching the history of feminism, gender and sexuality concepts, and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender movements.  While the lack of indexing makes finding relevant articles more difficult, at least Cornell's Human Sexuality Collection holds many of these important titles, so research with them is possible.
For more recent years, (mid 1990s on?), online indexing has greatly expanded access and coverage of such periodical articles.

 

Ridinger, Robert B. Marks. An Index to The Advocate, The National Gay Newsmagazine, 1967-1982. Los Angeles: Liberation Publications, 1987.
(Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts, Human Sexuality HQ 76.8 .U5 A24 Index+; Rare Reference + HQ 76.8 .U5 A24 Index; Olin Reference Film 5416 index [shelved in microform guides section])
The Advocate is available in the Human Sexuality collection and on microfilm in the Olin Library microform stacks, Lower Level.

 

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online. 1995-present.
Indexes
Indexes books and journal articles on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.

 

Women’s Studies Index. Boston: G.K. Hall, (1991-1998) and Detroit: Gale (1999-2002).
(Olin Reference Z 7962 .W91)
A print index that ended in 2002. May still be useful for the time period covered. Continued by Women's Studies Database which is part of Women's Studies International (next entry).

 

Women's Studies International [formerly Women's Resources International].
Indexes
An interdisciplinary database produced by NISC from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and Disciplines (1970-1995), Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography (1995), Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A Bibliography (1970- 1990), WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies (1985-1990). EBSCO interface.