Newspaper indexes and full-text newspapers/news services.
Comprehensive text searching and access to U.S. and international news by computerized newspaper databases begins for most titles around 1980.
A major exception is ProQuest Historical Newspapers which provides searchable full-image databases from the beginning for Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), Boston Globe (1872-1985), Chicago Tribune (1849-1993), Hartford Courant (1764-1991), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Wall Street Journal (1889-1999), and Washington Post (1877-2000).
and African-American newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
and International newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Globe and Mail [Toronto] (1844-2013), Irish Times / Weekly Irish Times [Dublin] (1859-2015), and Times of India (1838-2007).
Titles are searchable across any combination of newspapers in this collection. For most titles, another year of coverage is added each calendar year.
ABI/Inform Dateline. ProQuest. [part of ABI/Inform: click on the "Select multiple databases" link and check this title only]
Regional U.S. business news.
ABI/Inform Dateline focuses on hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides access to business information not typically found in national news sources. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications. Cornell only. List of titles included in this database.
ABYZ News Links.
A collection of links to news sites worldwide. Coverage: Many the current issue; some searchable archives; see individual sources. Includes some streaming video and audio; television, radio, and online news sources. Many languages.
Access World News [was America's Newspapers]. NewsBank/Readex.
Access World News features the text content of over 3,500 U.S. newspapers and newswires and an increasing number of international news sources. Starting dates for each newspaper vary. Good access to many regional and local newspapers. The Ithaca Journal (1999 to date) is now in the Newspapers section of ProQuest. Cornell only.
Alt-Press Watch. ProQuest.
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage of the peace movement, ecology and the environment, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, and grassroots organizing. This coverage of diverse points of view and perspectives complements the reporting in the mainstream press.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974-1996.
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. The FBIS Daily Reports in this collection cover April 1974 through September 1996. For coverage after 1996, see World News Connection.
Latin American Newsstream. ProQuest.
A searchable full-text database of newspapers from Latin America--most coverage begins in 2005, but see title list for specific dates. A related resource for print sources is the list of Latin American newspapers and news magazines in Olin Library.
LexisNexis Academic. To be replaced by Nexis Uni in May 2018.
Coverage: roughly 1980 to date. Includes television and radio. Plain text. Mainly English and Western European languages.
Updated daily. An international online news and legal database originally created for lawyers, businesses, and broadcast and print news organizations. Contains the the text of a number of large- and medium-size newspapers around the world; transcripts of broadcast news shows, interviews, and press conferences; local and state business publications; international wire services; and legal materials. Use is limited to Cornell students and faculty.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers [PQDN].
Coverage for eight titles from 1/1/2008 to 3 months ago, one title begins 1/1/2009, one title starts 1/1/2010. Primarily publisher PDFs backed by full text searching of OCRed text with some searching of publisher's text feed for newer dates. Forty-seven more digital microfilm titles to be added by late 2018.
To choose specific titles in PQDN for cross searching, go to any ProQuest database and click on the Change databases link at the top. Then click on the plus icon next to News and Newspapers databases. You will see all the PQDN titles listed there. You can click on the checkbox for cross-title searching.
Titles available as of 03/21/2018: American Banker Recent, Barron's Recent, The Boston Globe Recent, Chicago Tribune Recent, Los Angeles Times Recent, The New York Times Recent, The Philadelphia Inquirer Recent, The Wall Street Journal Recent, The Washington Post Recent, and USA Today Recent.
English-language U.S. newspaper titles.
World News Connection. 1995-2013.
A foreign news service from the U.S. government that provides the text of English translations for international newspaper articles and radio/television broadcasts. Coverage begins in 1995 and ends 12/31/2013. For coverage before 1995, see Finding Foreign Broadcast Information Service Documents.
Indexing and full-text articles for major business newspapers (i.e., the Wall Street Journal) and some major U.S. dailies are available in Factiva.
See also Ethnic News