Note: The search window across the top of this resource will search across all of the Sage Knowledge encyclopedias. After opening the link, scroll down to find the search options for this title.
"... examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. [Also available in print: Olin Library Reference, JA 61.E515 2010]
Also available in print: Olin Library, JA61 .B63
"...outlines the thought of leading political theorists, past and present, and considers the way in which thinking about politics has evolved historically. " [preface]
Search tip: To avoid casting your search across the entire Cambridge Histories collection, use the "Search Within" search box.
--The Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Political Thought
--The Cambridge history of medieval political thought c. 350-c. 1450
--The Cambridge history of political thought, 1450-1700
--The Cambridge history of eighteenth-century political thought
--The Cambridge history of nineteenth-century political thought
To find print copies, search the catalog by title.
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics
by Maurice Kogan (Editor); Mary Hawkesworth (Editor)
Online version of the Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. Articles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography. Bibliographies. Frequently updated.
"By placing a strong emphasis on radicals -- anarchists, socialists, and communists -- the Encyclopedia of the American Left has been able to delve into many topics that are otherwise little known or that are frequently discussed without relation to their actual Left context. [Preface, ix] Well indexed with numerous cross-references, each entry is signed and includes a list of sources for further reading." [publisher]
Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought
by Paul Barry Clarke (Editor); Joe Foweraker (Editor)
Covers key concepts and issues in democracy. Articles, written by subject experts, range from 1-6 pages with lists to further readings. Includes scholarly essays on Direct Action, Participation, Social Movements, etc.
by Jeremy Beer (Editor); Bruce Frohnen (Editor); Jeffrey O. Nelson (Editor)
Published by the Intercollegiate Studies Institute, this single-volume reference source explores conservative thought on a wide variety of social, political, and foreign policy issues, with additional entries on conservative thinkers, publications, and organizations important to the development of American conservative thought.